D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
THIS is the authentic, real, you-haven't-lived-until-you've tried it Old Fashioned Chicken n' Dumplin's. When we talk C n' D in the South THIS is what we're talking about. Takes longer, because you make your own broth...but it am the real thing! Mm-hmm! Very close to My Grandma's recipe -- and she ran a boarding house back in turn-of-the-century Waxahachie, Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I added carrots and celery and a bay leaf to broth as it cooked. Also rolled the dumplings very thin and increased cooking time, as they were still rather chewy after 15 minutes. Delicious over mashed potatoes! Thanks for the great recipe! I mixed 3 Tbsps. corn starch and 1/4 cup water for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is the best chicken and dumplin receipe I've ever tried! It is just as good if not better than my mother in law's....but dont tell her I said so! The only thing I did different was that after my chicken cooked....I deboned it then added it back to the pot with the dumplins. Also I simmered the dumplings for about 30-40 min until they were tender.....adding just a sprinkling of flour to thicken. The whole family loved it! This is my ONLY chicken and dumpling receipe now. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Yum-O! These dumplings were just the right texture. I 'upped' the soda and salt to 1/2 tsp. each, and it was perfect. I will definitely be using this recipe all the time. Thankyou!! Dana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Who in their right mind would use a 1 ball recipe!!!!!!! :-). Also half a lemon made a nice layer. Note this is just like a old time Pennsy Dutch/Polish dish called Chix Potpie that my pap used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was fairly easy, but not the kind of dumplings I was looking for. I thought they'd puff a bit, but they were just flat, dense noodles. The flavor was good, although I won't add as much poultry seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was wonderful, but could have used some potatoes added about 1/2 hour before you add the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beausoleil First Nation, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I'm not sure what I did wrong with this one. I followed the directions to a T. Seems more like .. Soup or something. I served it on top of egg noodles. The kids seemed to like it. Not sure if I will brave chicken and dumplings again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I am a Chicken and Dumplings fan, but I found nothing exciting about this recipe. The dumpling were too flat and the chicken lacked flavor. I live many of the suggestions made in previous reviews. I agree that the recipe needs carrots, but I chose to serve carrots as a side dish. I will admit that I chose not to add the seasoned salt because most of these products contain MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I adored this recipe! I am from Texas originally and this is very similar to the C and D's that I grew up eating. I have been looking for a recipe for rolled dumplings for years and this dough is PERFECT for rolling out! I did make a few changes. I added coarse ground pepper and parsley flakes to the dumpling dough 'cause I like them like that. I also sliced potatoes super thin and added them the last 30 minutes before I added the dumplings. I also tossed in some baby carrots and green beans the last 30 minutes as well. Even my Midwest husband enjoyed this recipe and the leftovers the next day are INCREDIBLE! Absolutely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States