D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe is as close as the one that my mother/father and grandmother taught me to make. The only thing I do differently is to make sure that I don't over-work the dough and to roll out the dough as thin as humanly possible. Doing this allows the dumplings to become very tender. Also add additional flour to the dumplings as you roll them out to prevent them from sticking and this will also thicken up the gravy in a great way. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
A little time consuming, but worth every bit of effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU so much for this wonderful recipe! This reminds me a lot of the one that my mom use to make. I did wind up using all of the dumpling dough and boy am I glad that I did because they are simply DELICIOUS! Because I started with a whole chicken I used all of the "scraps" to make a broth for later use, which was easy to do since I was already chopping some onion and celery for the recipe. Also, after the chicken had finished simmering, I deboned it saving the cartilage and fat for our 3 dogs! So you have made EVERYONE in my house extremely happy with sharing your recipe! Thanks again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is the closest to my family's of all the CandD recipes. I stopped making this dish years ago because it is a labor of love and my children are grown and gone. But I think I will make a pot during holidays. What is missing in this and all the C and D recipes is the correct chicken. It has to be a stewing chicken like used for Chicken Fricasee. Adding celery leaves enhances the flavor. Cool the broth, then skim the fat, refrigerate and use it instead of the margarine or shortening for the dumplings. Letting the cut dumplings rest in the refrigerator for a few hours is essential to them being tender. This is why I call it a labor of love. 1. Find the chicken (Jewish Market is good start or most fresh meat market.) 2. Boiling for at least 2 hours - stewing chickens are tough unless boiled a long time. 3. cooling deboning 4. Skimming 5. allowing dumplings to set 6. Putting weight watching on hold for at least one or two days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I thought these chicken 'n' dumplings were going to be so great but, i'm very disappointed with them. They have something missing and i'm not sure what. I will stick to my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Pretty good. Like many of the others, I also added both carrots to the broth, and thickened with cornstarch. I also simply rolled my dumplings into little balls by hand - way more fun that way! I thought the dumplings wre an excellent consistency. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Delilah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I had used another recipe for dumplings using biscuits, but wanted to make home made dumplings. After reading all the reviews; I decided to try it.. When it came to the dumplings they looked really flat,so I only dropped a couple in and waited. After seeing that they never "fluffed"; I took them out and went with another recipe from this site. I am so sorry for this review,but unless you want flat,noodle like dumplings,then look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I made this recipe for dinner tonight. It was very very good. The dumplings are a perfect texture,and stay firm. Definately use both balls of dumpling dough. I would use half the amount of poultry seasoning next time, but I was the only one that noticed. Everyone gobbled this up. You could add carrots and potatos to this,and it would work fine. The broth is not thick. If you like a thick southern Chicken and Dumplings. Add a little flour to the chicken broth. This is good. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I was looking for just really the dumpling part of this recipe (lost mine). Tried and tried many many other recipes could not even come close. Guess what??? I found it right here these are sooooo good. Had plenty of chicken and gravy left over but no DUMPLINGS. Thanks so much for this recipe. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Not nealry enough flavor for my taste, and it was more like soup without adding cornstarch. I thickend it and added spices and a turkey gravy packet to it but the dumplings also were not the right consistancy, a hugh waste of time>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States