D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I turned this recipe into a serving for 10 and had less than a serving left. out of three recipes from this site- I was told this was my best batch yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My family loved this meal. I did substitute the 3 1/2 cups of water for low soduim chicken broth. It came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosenhayn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
For those of you who may be hesitant to try this recipe due to some of the negative reviews, please try this suggestion: Instead of using just water, use canned or boxed chicken broth or adding chicken bouillon cubes to the water. I used chicken tenderloins (cut into tiny pieces) instead of whole chicken due to health reasons, and I can see why it could turn out bland. I also increased the onion to a whole onion, and added a couple of carrots. This tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This is the best recipe I've found for authentic chicken n' dumplings. After visiting my boyfriend's family in AR and having his grandma's chicken n' dumplings, this was the one recipe I've seen that seemed like his grandmas. I made it for him and he loved it! He said it's the closest thing to his grandma's he's ever had and that it was eve nbetter then his mom's or his dad's chicken n' dumplings. I would say to those who didn't like it, that there are 2 keys to it's success. 1)Before adding the dumplings back in, taste the broth and season it to your liking. 2) After cutting the dumplings but before throwing them in, make sure they are well coated in loose flour. Toss the dumpling strips in four and shake it off as you add them in. That's how you get the smooth thick broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I liked this recipe, but is lacks taste. So I added cream of chicken soup and a lot of spices. I did like the dumplings, although my DH said they were flour"E". I did add the corn startch, to thicken it up. I had fun making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
excellent! i used 3 bone in breasts. i also used all the dough and glad i did, love the dumplings. i do like it thicker...no problem added about 2 tbls of flour with a cup of milk and it thickened up nicely. also,i threw in 3 boullion cubes while simmering.... well done, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amb1580
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This recipe is fantastic and yes, the dumplings are the flat noodle type, like those served at CrackerBarrel. The ones who rated this so low were obviously looking for a different type of dumpling (they need to try good old Jiffy, the recipe is right on the back of the box). I am a mommy so I don't like to spend all day in the kitchen so this is what I do: I buy a cooked rotisserie chicken, get all the meat off and put it in the pot along with all drippings from the container, and 2- 32 oz. containers of chicken broth (8 cups total) plus 4 cups of water with 4 tsp. of chicken boullion granules. This makes 12 cups. Then add the poultry seasoning, seasoned salt, and pepper. Boil and add dumplings. When the dumplings are about done, thicken with about 1 cup of flour mixed with 3/4 - 1 cup of cold water if you like it thicker (like me)! This recipe is very quick, as long as you have your dumpling dough prepared ahead of time and ready to go! It's a 30 minute meal from start to finish! I don't even use the veggies cooked in margarine and it tastes wonderful, it doesn't need any additional seasoning and it's nice to have it without the bones in it. The dumplings are so tender! ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
this recipe is off the chain...My wife and I have tried to make chicken n' dumplings for years with bad results. Then I made this last night and it was like mom made growing up. Thx so much for the recipe now i can enjoy them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe is as close as the one that my mother/father and grandmother taught me to make. The only thing I do differently is to make sure that I don't over-work the dough and to roll out the dough as thin as humanly possible. Doing this allows the dumplings to become very tender. Also add additional flour to the dumplings as you roll them out to prevent them from sticking and this will also thicken up the gravy in a great way. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
A little time consuming, but worth every bit of effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States