D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is now my house recipe. I do add some extra spices to the dumplings, poultry seasoning, and paprika, garlic salt, pepper. that sorta thing, but very good. And I also use this for turkey as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Lol how many times will my review get edited? As a person from the south and has grown up on chicken and dumplings, all I can say is the good reviews on this recipe have to be from people used to eating chicken n dumplings from a can. It's truly awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious old timey flavor just like my Big MaMa used to make, after she went to heaven I never thought I would ever get to eat good chicken n dumplings again so glad I found this recipe so Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I have been making dumplings for years. My family was dissapointed in this recipe as well. The dumplings had nothing special going on, and the broth was lacking flavor. I'll stick with my Betty Crocker page 81 Dumplings and then I make my own broth with lots of flavor. I add parsley, sage and poultry seasoning to the dumplings .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This recipe is northern-style southern cooking. LOL. Too much liquid, not enough dumplings and no peas and carrots. If you double the dumpling mixture, debone the chicken (hello, who leaves bones in chicken and dumplings?!!) and add peas and carrots, you might have something edible. I also like to add a little chicken bullion or a can of cream of chicken and 1 potato cut in small pieces (so there is something there other than broth). I'm from the far south and our chicken and dumplings is so thick it will stand on your fork. (Well, perhaps an exaggeration, but trust me it is very thick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I think these are really good.I did add a little milk after the chicken was done and some flour mixed in to thicken the gravy just a bit..I think some of the reviewer notes are looking for chicken pot pie with carrots and potatoes??? Its chicken and dumplings with seasonings here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My grandmother Gloria always made the best dumplings, this is the closest I have ever found to hers, thank you so much...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM ROBERTS JOHNSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I really liked this soup (my family isn't a big fan but they just don't like the dumpling part.) I changed it to have more veggies because the kids just never get enough and also put some homestyle egg noodles so it was more like chicken soup. My last and favorite addition to the soup was egg whites because I was making vanilla pudding at the same time and just threw the extra 3 egg whites into the soup so as not to waste them. It turned out great and I really liked the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Made this tonight for the first time and it was a BIG hit. Didn't change a thing, just adjusted the seasonings to our taste. Will be making again and again. Thank you SIS T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovesgoodcookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Loved the chicken and broth. Tasted like I'd slaved over it all day. "Dumplings" or large noodles were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States