Czechoslovakian Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Easy. Because of a school no-nut policy, we skipped the pecans.. Still VERY good. We also skipped allspice & cardamom & used 1/3 tsp cinnamon instead. Would make it the same way next time. Re: top layer of dough: We used our hands to flatten golf ball-sized amounts of dough into 'pancakes' and placed them over the jam, overlapping slightly & pressing edges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
My twelve year old son made these himself, with a just a little supervision! Followed the recipe exactly as stated; they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
These were great, My kids wanted me to make them again. I doubled the recipe to make a larger amount all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyalves
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I love the taste of cardomen in this, it really adds to the flavor. This will go in the All Time Keepers file. It is simple to make and a wonderful addition to any cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Followed the low sugar jam tip. These were awesome, brought them to a picnic and there were almost none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These cookies were a staple at holiday time. My mom made a cookie by the same name, but did not add the spices and used plum jam. These are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Well....this didn't turn out as I thought it would. Easy ingredients. Easy to put together. The batter was stiff when putting in the pan. I followed it to a T. Baked it and it didn't look done. It was in the oven an hour and a half. And I took it out. Waited until it cooled and it was gooey in the center. I think I should have prebaked the bottom a little bit before adding the jam and top. And even though it add little cardamom, I preferred the flavor before it was baked. After, just wasn't to my liking...totally sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This were phenomenal! I made them with Peach Preserves and everyone that tried them loved them. Hard to wait an hour for them to be done but worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
delish and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These are so good! Easy to make, full of wonderful flavor. Don't leave out the cardamom, it really makes a difference. They make great "cereal" bars, especially if you reduce the sugar and use whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States