Czech Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Holy cow, was this dish delicious! The sauce is outstanding! The secret is knowing how much salt and pepper to use. I was very conservative in following the "salt and pepper to taste" instructions, and the dish was okay. I sprinkled more on my individual serving, and it was to die for! I will proudly make this again and again. The only thing I will change is to use much more rice in the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. It would be improved on only by the addition of garlic. Never pureed the sauce and was still good with roasted garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
The best stuffed green peppers I have ever tasted. My partner doesn't usually like stuffed peppers but she really liked these ones. The sauce was incredible, I think I may make it alone as a creamy tomato soup, it was that good. I made a few substitutions: I used veggie ground roung instead of beef, yogourt instead of sour cream, and I didn't have marjoram so I omitted it. It would probably be even better with beef, but making it vegetarian cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These peppers are wonderful. I was out of rice so I used garlic and herb couscous instead. I had to scale down the recipe--I made 2 peppers and halved the sauce. By having only 2 peppers in the baking dish, I needed to remove the sauce ingredients after about an hour or they would have burned. As others have said, the sauce really makes this dish. Definitely something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This is very good! I used up some leftover shredded beef from the Italian beef recipe on this site instead of ground beef, though, and that was yummy. Added extra whole allspice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I've made this 4 times now and it is fantastic. I dont know how anyone can go wrong with this recipe. It has wonderful flavor and is easy to make. I basically followed the recipe and made sure I had fresh spices. I love this and I NEVER eat stuffed peppers...that is until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
5 stars based on my changes/substitutions (wanted to make it a little healthier and address the bland problem previous reviewers mentioned): Turkey Italian sausage (cases removed) instead of beef 1/2c Quinoa, 1/2c wild rice instead of white rice Plain yogurt instead of sour cream Egg white instead of whole egg The sauce is absolutely wonderful... I'll be making this one again for sure! Served with a small side of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made this for my husband who is half czech and his uncle who is full blooded czech.They loved it!!!!! I usually don't eat stuffed peppers but when my own 4 yr old said "Boy Mommy these are great!" I tried them and now I'm hooked!!! I added garlic and onion to them but the rest of the recipe I followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Try emersing the peppers in tomatoe juice(v8),a can of crushed tomatoes, fresh diced garlic , vinager, paprika,oregano, salt and pepper to taste..Simmer in a large pot until soft aprox 45 minutes to an hour...Top with sour cream and have a couple of pieces of texis style bread on the side to dip...I make it this way all the time and it is the BEST...AMAZING!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The pepper filling needs a tad more salt but the sauce makes this unusual and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States