Czech Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
5 stars based on my changes/substitutions (wanted to make it a little healthier and address the bland problem previous reviewers mentioned): Turkey Italian sausage (cases removed) instead of beef 1/2c Quinoa, 1/2c wild rice instead of white rice Plain yogurt instead of sour cream Egg white instead of whole egg The sauce is absolutely wonderful... I'll be making this one again for sure! Served with a small side of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe, with some changes. First, I added a lot more spices to the meat mixture, including cumin, basil, oregano, garlic. It was very flavorful. I used a jarred spaghetti sauce and added onions and sour cream to it. I put a bit of asiago cheese and chedder cheese at the bottom of each pepper, which I cut into the boat style. And added mozzerella on top. I served it with a zuccini and summer squash in the side and a good bread. Yummy. Couldn't taste the all spice at all - should probably use more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I've made this 4 times now and it is fantastic. I dont know how anyone can go wrong with this recipe. It has wonderful flavor and is easy to make. I basically followed the recipe and made sure I had fresh spices. I love this and I NEVER eat stuffed peppers...that is until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This is very good! I used up some leftover shredded beef from the Italian beef recipe on this site instead of ground beef, though, and that was yummy. Added extra whole allspice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
BLAND, BLAND, BLAND. I really had high hopes for this recipe and thought with the sauce it would be worth the effort, but I was sadly mistaken. Slaved over a hot stove on a hot/humid 80 degree day with no AC to use up some peppers from the garden and after the first bite new it was not meant to be!!! Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These peppers are wonderful. I was out of rice so I used garlic and herb couscous instead. I had to scale down the recipe--I made 2 peppers and halved the sauce. By having only 2 peppers in the baking dish, I needed to remove the sauce ingredients after about an hour or they would have burned. As others have said, the sauce really makes this dish. Definitely something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
nothing out of the ordinary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Really great! The sauce is outstanding. I'm not a big fan of green peppers, admittedly, as I think they are too watery. Being of Czech ancestry, I wanted to try this, despite my green pepper distaste. I added chopped garlic to the beef mixture, other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
The best stuffed green peppers I have ever tasted. My partner doesn't usually like stuffed peppers but she really liked these ones. The sauce was incredible, I think I may make it alone as a creamy tomato soup, it was that good. I made a few substitutions: I used veggie ground roung instead of beef, yogourt instead of sour cream, and I didn't have marjoram so I omitted it. It would probably be even better with beef, but making it vegetarian cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. It would be improved on only by the addition of garlic. Never pureed the sauce and was still good with roasted garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States