Czech Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good recipe. I Too enjoyed the sauce. One thing I do is to slit a few holes in the bottom of the pepper so fat doesn't lay in the bottom. Other than that I pretty much followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very easy to make. Wasn't sure if I should cook the rice completely as thought it would get mushy from overcooking. Why can't it go in raw? I liked the idea of not cooking the peppers first. They baked just fine in the oven. I think it could have used more rice. I used 2 eggs and 3 lbs. grd. beef as the peppers were large and it worked out well. I have tried other recipes for stuffed peppers from All Recipes. This one was good but I think I would try other recipes just to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These were very good. I used red bell peppers. They were very tasty and the sauce turned out to be a really unexpected treat. The peppers were good in lunches the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.D. Walsh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I cooked "1 cup" of dry rice; not one cup cooked. It really needed tomato sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The pepper filling needs a tad more salt but the sauce makes this unusual and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Prepared this tonight, DH and I both enjoyed it. I prefer the style of stuffed peppers where the meat is not cooked first. Typically I don't feel I have the right to review someone's recipe if I alter it, but since I thought the basic recipe was quite good, this time I will. I sauteed some finely chopped red/green pepper and garlic with the onions and used about 2 cups of cooked rice to 1lb of ground beef. I also used fresh herbs in the meat mixture (oregano,parsley,basil)I used the same fresh herbs plus garlic in the sauce, I also added 2T sugar and splash of red wine to the sauce which I simmered for about 30 minutes before pouring over the peppers. I also par-cooked my peppers by steaming for about 10 minutes before I stuffed them. I agree with others, this sauce is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEBUNNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Try emersing the peppers in tomatoe juice(v8),a can of crushed tomatoes, fresh diced garlic , vinager, paprika,oregano, salt and pepper to taste..Simmer in a large pot until soft aprox 45 minutes to an hour...Top with sour cream and have a couple of pieces of texis style bread on the side to dip...I make it this way all the time and it is the BEST...AMAZING!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made this for my husband who is half czech and his uncle who is full blooded czech.They loved it!!!!! I usually don't eat stuffed peppers but when my own 4 yr old said "Boy Mommy these are great!" I tried them and now I'm hooked!!! I added garlic and onion to them but the rest of the recipe I followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These were OK. Unfortunately I don't have anything useful to add either positive or negative. I was an easy way to use up the abundance of peppers I had in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I liked this recipe because it did not have cheese. The flavor was good even though I did not have any marjoram or the sour cream for the sauce (I also just used ground spices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States