Czech Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2002
Beautiful peppers but not spicy enough for my taste. I would increase the amount of oregano and the allspice. Very good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
These were great. It was my first time making stuffed pepper and they turned out so great I was very impress with the recipe. It is now in my recipe box for future makings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Holy cow, was this dish delicious! The sauce is outstanding! The secret is knowing how much salt and pepper to use. I was very conservative in following the "salt and pepper to taste" instructions, and the dish was okay. I sprinkled more on my individual serving, and it was to die for! I will proudly make this again and again. The only thing I will change is to use much more rice in the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. It would be improved on only by the addition of garlic. Never pureed the sauce and was still good with roasted garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
The best stuffed green peppers I have ever tasted. My partner doesn't usually like stuffed peppers but she really liked these ones. The sauce was incredible, I think I may make it alone as a creamy tomato soup, it was that good. I made a few substitutions: I used veggie ground roung instead of beef, yogourt instead of sour cream, and I didn't have marjoram so I omitted it. It would probably be even better with beef, but making it vegetarian cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Really great! The sauce is outstanding. I'm not a big fan of green peppers, admittedly, as I think they are too watery. Being of Czech ancestry, I wanted to try this, despite my green pepper distaste. I added chopped garlic to the beef mixture, other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
nothing out of the ordinary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These peppers are wonderful. I was out of rice so I used garlic and herb couscous instead. I had to scale down the recipe--I made 2 peppers and halved the sauce. By having only 2 peppers in the baking dish, I needed to remove the sauce ingredients after about an hour or they would have burned. As others have said, the sauce really makes this dish. Definitely something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
BLAND, BLAND, BLAND. I really had high hopes for this recipe and thought with the sauce it would be worth the effort, but I was sadly mistaken. Slaved over a hot stove on a hot/humid 80 degree day with no AC to use up some peppers from the garden and after the first bite new it was not meant to be!!! Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This is very good! I used up some leftover shredded beef from the Italian beef recipe on this site instead of ground beef, though, and that was yummy. Added extra whole allspice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States