Czech Kolache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
good old world flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I loved it.. My grandmother (babka) used to make these, but she omitted the raisins and used a single pitted cherry instead.. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
this recipe is awesome, but time consuming. there was some leftover dough, so i pureed blueberries and blackberries and made them into a filling. delicious!i had some cottage cheese about to go bad, so this recipe was the perfect way to use it. these have become a fast favorite in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Its very rare that I give something 5 stars, but this one deserves it. I had lots of cottage cheese to use so I made one batch and that was eaten up so i decided to make another- will make again and again and again, also good to put jam on top if you run out of topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
LOVE this kolache recipe. My husband grew up with his great-grandmother who was full Czech, and he said that these were the closest that he'd ever had! Thank you so much for sharing! I can tell that I'll be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The dough turned out great and was tasty. I elected to make different toppings (a blueberry and farmer cheese as well as an apricot) The first batch burned badly on the bottom at this high of temperature. The second batch at 405 was slightly burnt in 10 minutes. I saw other comparable recipes that recommended cooking at 375 for 15 minutes. Think I'll try that next time. I ruined two double batches with this high temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Family just loved these. It was worth the time and effort. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This looks really close to my grandmothers' recipe. She came to America from Czechoslovakia in the late 1800's. She eventually modified her recipe from using shortening to using butter, it made the pastry a little softer in the end. The VERY BEST canned filling I have found to use is 'Solo' brand. I can't find it in local stores so I order it on line. In a pinch, tho, I buy canned pie filling and add a little sugar and it works just as well. And the 425 temp does seem a little high, I bake mine at 375 for 15-20 minutes then run a stick of butter around the edges when they come out of the oven. I add a crumble topping of butter and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
The dough cooks good, but tastes like cracker bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Not as good as Texas Kolaches but definitely delicious! I tried adding strawberry jelly and more flour to the filling for variety and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States