Czech Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 5 Hungry Athletes
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent - shredded approx 4 cups of green cabbage, 1/2 cup onion (shredded), cooked 5 slices or bacon, shredded 1 small red bell pepper (seeded and de-veined) and thinly sliced one stalk of celery. Used 2 Tbls of bacon grease (no oil), 3 Tbls white vinegar, and otherwise followed the instructions, including blanching the cabbage. Served with Czech Pork Roast, which was an unbelievable combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beltsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This cabbage dish was just delicious. The only thing I did differently was to cook the cabbage along with the vegetables. Will be making this dish often. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This recipe calls for regular pork bacon but we don't eat pork so I made this with turkey bacon. It still tasted pretty good but I think the fat and flavor from regular bacon would have mellowed the flavor of the cabbage and vinegar a little better and would have made for a better blend. I Added about 3 teaspoons of sugar to balance it out. It is a very good recipe though next time I will add a little butter and more bacon and salt than this recipe calls for when using turkey bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My husband and I absolutely LOVED this, would definitely make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is DELICIOUS!!!! I just finished making my batch for the week (I prepare all my food in advance to prevent binges on prepackaged or fast foods)....this is NOW A STAPLE to my weekly food intake! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phyliciaproctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made this for my Czech husband and we both like this recipe. Additonally, I sometimes add sausage, however it is tasty as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nasja1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was very good. The vinegar adds a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Used a little less than half a head, 2 slices of bacon, red onion, 3 small stalks celery, 4 teaspoons vinegar, red pepper instead of green. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Mmmmm this is so good! I don't like crunchy cabbage so cooked it until tender. Even my husband who makes horrible faces when I mention cabbage liked it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tofield, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
saute with cooked egg noodles for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States