Czech Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great. Used all ingredients called for except for the oil - I poured off some of the bacon fat - left enough to use without adding oil - wanted bacon flavor. I also just ended up cooking the cabbage with the veggies at the end. I added the vinegar as soon as I put the veggies in the skillet to scrap up the bacon bits at the bottom of the skillet. I also added a teaspoon of sugar. It is wonderful the next day too. Love it cold. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Liked it better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My mother and my MIL loved this, I thought it was pretty good, but nothing to write home about, and my husband said it was "good... for cabbage." The cabbage flavor is very strong. The vinegar and pepper temper that a bit, but its missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have made this 5 times now, All I can say is there are not enough stars up there to rate this !!!! We took this to a Friends Birthday Party,about 30 people there, not one person had anything bad to say about it, Except !!!!! OMG Can I Have This RECIPE!!!!! SO my hats off to this one , The Hillbillys of Western Ky Like It !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passinbye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Admittedly, part of the reason I didn't enjoy this dish is that I expected something different. I was expecting a nice savoury, oniony, bacony dish. Maybe I did something wrong but mine just turned out like vinegary coleslaw with bacon in it, and WAY too much black pepper. It was just OK - I ate some and put the rest in the fridge for later, but it would up getting thrown out as we couldn't be bothered to eat it. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
My boyfriend and I really liked this dish! To make it more of a main course we added a chicken breast and served it over noodles. We browned the chicken before adding a 1/2 lb of bacon. Later we cut the chicken up into small strips. Just to season, not that it really needed it, we added hot sauce and a little paprika. Like a lot of the other reviewers we did not blanche the cabbage before, just added all the veggies in at onces. Delish! I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Delicious and so simple to make. It's similar to Chinese moo shu, to the point that we put some of this in some moo shu wrappers I had in the freezer. Also--I used turkey bacon instead of regular, to cut down the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
NOT very good. Unfortunately I made this when friends were coming for dinner and was so embarrassed at the way it came out, I offered to take them to grab some fast food elsewhere. Dang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Mashed potatoes and gravy Marie. I liked it and will make it again. I did not blanch the cabbage but sautéed it with the other ingredients until tender. -Big Jesse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Good. I really thought the vinegar added a great touch. Could use a little more spices for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States