Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
Easy to bake with children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I think some reviewers added the powdered sugar as part of the cookie recipe. All that is needed to bring the dough together is a bit of milk. I also added about 1/4 cup more sugar. It's a great roll out recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharmon Trahan
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
For those who found the recipe to crumbly, I have some advice to mix better: first cream shortening and sugar together, then add egg and vanilla and mix well until creamy. Then mix flour,baking powder and salt.Add dry to wet ingredience a little at a time until you are able to mix it all in. Save the confectioners sugar for the glaze! Wonderful cookie, my kids loved them and I even took a picture for the web site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmon Trahan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My 13 year old daughter made these while my husband and I were at a Christmas party. They were awesome! I was very impressed. She did not read the reviews first, so when I read them I was surprised at the negative remarks. I asked her about the dough being crumbly and she said she just had to press it together with her hands to form a ball before she rolled it out. She used pre made frosting to decorate so this rating is for the cookie only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
For hotel welcome buckets, I included these cookies cut into starfish (beach wedding theme) and they were a huge hit. I used a cake tester to dimple the starfish to look more authentic. Simple to make & great tasting too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Awesome recipe. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Followed advice of others and creamed sugar and shortening first, added dry later. Used exact amounts of flour. Rolled like a dream and tasted like the bakery cookies we get at Publix. Glaze was good, too, and it dried well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I followed advice about creaming together teh shortening and sugar first, then adding eggs and vanilla. I then, slowly mixed in the dry combination of flour, baking powder, and salt. This ended up terrific! I have perfect cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I didn't have any problems with this recipe. Very tasty and they rolled out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I lost my favorite cut out recipe and decided to try this...I totally lucked out! For those who thought too crumbly you need to mix it more until it comes together. A countertop mixer works well for this. It rolled out fabulously without being refrigerated. I did 1/4" thickness for a cookie to be royal frosted for my son's end of year soccer game. Be sure not to work it too much after each rolling or you'll have drier cookies from all the extra flour. Refrigerate the cut out dough for 15-20 minutes to keep it from spreading while cooking and you'll have the best chewy cut out cookies ever! Thank you for my new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States