Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made these cookies twice, the 1rst time I actually made a mistake instead of using baking powder I used baking soda, the 2nd time I baked these I followed recipe to a Tee. The 1rst batch was much fluffier and not as crumbly. I think this is an error in the original recipe so try baking soda instead. Also I creamed sugar and shortening together 1rst then added dry ingredients a little at a time alternating with egg and vanilla, so mixture is less crumbly. I baked at 350 degrees for 6 minutes with oven wrack on notch above the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoldnGodess83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
trying this recipe but read reviews and decided to cream sugar and shortening first then eggs and vanilla and then added flour mixture, then I added about 2 tbls milk. since its fall I also added a little cinnamon, nutmeg and apple pie spice. turned out fabulous. love these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
this recipe is not one that i will ever attempt again. the dough is far to crumbly and next to impossible to work with...certainly not a recipe for cut out cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marybeth34
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. I have used it for holidays and parties such as baby showers and birthdays. as long as you have the cookie cutters you want, you can do anything! and decorate away!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybeth34
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very easy cookies and taste great! Not to sweet, just enough! Took these to work and one of my co-workers told me this is the recipe she's been looking for. I agree with previous reviews regarding creaming the shortening and sugar, adding egg and vanilla and THEN adding dry ingredients... I thought that was an understood rule of making cookies. Anyway, wondreful recipe! My kids had way too much fun helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I wish I had read the hints to cream the sugar and shortening, etc. before adding the flour. The dough was so crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
A rating of 3 only. If I could, 2&1/2 stars is my true rating.The flavor of the cookie itself is good, however the dough is not easy to roll out due to a dry texture. I tend to think this recipe is missing milk. After Iw baked a dozen with the recipe as is, I added about 2-3 tbsp of 1/2&1/2 to the already mixed dough, worked it in well with my hands to get a more plyable dough. THEN I was able to easily roll the dough and cut-out cookies. I will not use this recipe again - too much trouble/work. I will stick with my current rolled sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I followed some of the suggestion the the previous reviewers and these were not hard to roll out and did not crumble at all!! These are the first cookies I have ever rolled and cut out and I found this a very simple and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I loved this recipe. I only had about 1/2 cup of shortening left so I added 1 stick of butter. I also creamed the butter and sugar then added the dry ingredients. After refrigerating them, they rolled out perfect. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My 13 year old daughter made these while my husband and I were at a Christmas party. They were awesome! I was very impressed. She did not read the reviews first, so when I read them I was surprised at the negative remarks. I asked her about the dough being crumbly and she said she just had to press it together with her hands to form a ball before she rolled it out. She used pre made frosting to decorate so this rating is for the cookie only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States