Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This dough was awful-I couln't even roll it out without it crumbling. I would never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I think i figured out what the dough needed. First cream shorting,eggs,sugar,vanilla, Second add only add (3 cups of flour instead of 3 1/2) flour,salt,baking powder,salt. And do not use the powder sugar and water in cookie dough its for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
For hotel welcome buckets, I included these cookies cut into starfish (beach wedding theme) and they were a huge hit. I used a cake tester to dimple the starfish to look more authentic. Simple to make & great tasting too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharmon Trahan
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
For those who found the recipe to crumbly, I have some advice to mix better: first cream shortening and sugar together, then add egg and vanilla and mix well until creamy. Then mix flour,baking powder and salt.Add dry to wet ingredience a little at a time until you are able to mix it all in. Save the confectioners sugar for the glaze! Wonderful cookie, my kids loved them and I even took a picture for the web site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmon Trahan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I think some reviewers added the powdered sugar as part of the cookie recipe. All that is needed to bring the dough together is a bit of milk. I also added about 1/4 cup more sugar. It's a great roll out recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I BAKED THESE FOR CHRISTMAS. THEY WERE DELICIOUS HOWEVER I COULD NOT TASTE THE CONFECTIONERS SUGAR IN THEM AND DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY IT WAS EVEN ADDED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I think you have forgot some kind of liguid. My boys helped make these and were very upset to just find crumbs. We rolled them out. Believe it or not they were tasty and we will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I found this cookie very bland, and far too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Emmett, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
There is something missing from this recipe the dough is crumbly and is not able to be roled out for cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
These cookies were impossible to roll out for cookie cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States