Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My 13 year old daughter made these while my husband and I were at a Christmas party. They were awesome! I was very impressed. She did not read the reviews first, so when I read them I was surprised at the negative remarks. I asked her about the dough being crumbly and she said she just had to press it together with her hands to form a ball before she rolled it out. She used pre made frosting to decorate so this rating is for the cookie only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I lost my favorite cut out recipe and decided to try this...I totally lucked out! For those who thought too crumbly you need to mix it more until it comes together. A countertop mixer works well for this. It rolled out fabulously without being refrigerated. I did 1/4" thickness for a cookie to be royal frosted for my son's end of year soccer game. Be sure not to work it too much after each rolling or you'll have drier cookies from all the extra flour. Refrigerate the cut out dough for 15-20 minutes to keep it from spreading while cooking and you'll have the best chewy cut out cookies ever! Thank you for my new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
yuck crumbly and dry no room for waisting $ in this economy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I couldn't roll out the dough after I chilled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I didn't have any problems with this recipe. Very tasty and they rolled out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I followed advice about creaming together teh shortening and sugar first, then adding eggs and vanilla. I then, slowly mixed in the dry combination of flour, baking powder, and salt. This ended up terrific! I have perfect cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Followed advice of others and creamed sugar and shortening first, added dry later. Used exact amounts of flour. Rolled like a dream and tasted like the bakery cookies we get at Publix. Glaze was good, too, and it dried well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Too crumbly; won't roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anewshootingstar
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I made the cookies and used a different frosting recipe. As for the cookies, they proved difficult to roll and cut. I ended up doing one cut-out cookie at a time. I made two half batches, one with vanilla and the other I substituted the vanilla for anise. I also added 4 drops of red food coloring to have pink cookies for Valentine's Day. Both cookies had a good flavor and made great VD cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Awesome recipe. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States