Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
The BEST sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried. I have a suggestion however...mix your baking powder and salt with only 3 cups of the flour and add that first, then gradually add more flour until you have a proper dough consistency. I only needed 5 cups flour in total - not 7. The flavour of these cookies is outstanding! The dough rolls out nicely and it is so easy to cut out shapes and transfer to the cookie sheet. They have a wonderful texture once baked and cooled, and hold up beautifully while decorating. My intention was to cut out "ghost" shapes for Halloween, and then stick the sticks in some sort of foam graveyard I made, but I couldn't find proper cookie sticks in the time crunch I was in. I just cut out ghost and bat shapes and decorated with frosting and coloured sugars. Can't wait for Christmas now! LOVE this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I was a bit worried about these cookies on a stick. They felt so heavy and hard. After I had them frosted I counted how many I needed and I had a few extra so, I tasted one...they were very good ( I ate the whole thing). The cookie itself is not sweet at all but, it is very tender. The frosting or icing makes them sweet. We will make these again. thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
This recipe really stood the kid test. When I decided to make cookies on a stick for children to decorate at a Spring party, I was afraid that the cookies might fall apart as the children decorated them. This recipe was sturdy enough to resist breakage from the toughest little hands. The cookies were not too hard either. They had a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This is the only cookie dough I use for all my holiday cookies. The only change I made was switching the butter flavored extract with vanilla, or sometimes almond. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morris Plains, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I have just used this recipe to make '6' shaped cookies for my sons birthday party. I didn't follow the method given, I just threw all the ingredients into my food processor and then put it in a bag in the fridge for a couple of hours. When I got it out I sprinked flour on before I rolled it and it has made wonderful biscuits. They puff up a bit so they shouldn't be put too close together on the baking tray. I have iced then with glace icing and they are lovely. Thanks for the great recipe. Just one thing, I am British and have never heard of butter flavoured extract so I just left it out! I used caster sugar for white sugar and plain flour for all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Not only did this recipe taste wonderful, the cookies stood up to the kids' decorating fun. And, this recipe also divides fabulously. EDITED: This is our go-to decorating cookie. This is the dough I make for Bumpa to come over and bake cookies with the kids. They hold up well while rolling out/cutting, bake up beautifully and they hold icing well, if that makes sense. Plus, they taste FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurie/Laura Pokas
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Thanks for all of your compliments cooks! Andrea - I think maybe you cooked them too long. This cookie definitely should not get hard - they are firm, yet soft. All ovens are different. Maybe try a little less flour. It's also easy to overwork your dough if you are rolling it in too much flour. Good luck on your next try! ADDITIONAL COMMENT: I have gone to using the clear Mexican vanilla in my Royal Icing - unbelievable taste and smell -- No one can eat just one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie/Laura Pokas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I didn't do the craft, just made the cookies with my 2 1/2 year old daugheter. The only complaint I have is that they were very hard and we tend to like them a touch softer (not too soft though!). Maybe I baked the too long? Anyway, I agree with another review that they passed the kid test! My little daughter had a great time cutting animal shapes out of this dough - which was so easy to make. I halfed the recipe, due to a lack of enough butter in the fridge, but it made MORE than enough cookies! lol Also, I didn't have butter extract, so I just did additional vanilla. I bet it's good with the butter flavor though.... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Khristine
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is my standard sugar cookie recipe. I half it often and it turns out perfectly every time. They are delicious and if you roll them out to 1/4 of an inch, they are soft inside and crisp on the edges. I don't do the lollypop sticks, too much trouble for me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was my first attempt at cut-out cookies. They were super easy and SO GOOD! Very sturdy, my 2 yr old helped me frost them and didn't break one! After I put them in a tupperware they moistened up nicely and were soft and delicious! I didn't have any butter extract so added almond in it's place and got many compliments on the flavor it added. Looking forward to all holidays to make this cookie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States