Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I have just used this recipe to make '6' shaped cookies for my sons birthday party. I didn't follow the method given, I just threw all the ingredients into my food processor and then put it in a bag in the fridge for a couple of hours. When I got it out I sprinked flour on before I rolled it and it has made wonderful biscuits. They puff up a bit so they shouldn't be put too close together on the baking tray. I have iced then with glace icing and they are lovely. Thanks for the great recipe. Just one thing, I am British and have never heard of butter flavoured extract so I just left it out! I used caster sugar for white sugar and plain flour for all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I was a bit worried about these cookies on a stick. They felt so heavy and hard. After I had them frosted I counted how many I needed and I had a few extra so, I tasted one...they were very good ( I ate the whole thing). The cookie itself is not sweet at all but, it is very tender. The frosting or icing makes them sweet. We will make these again. thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
These cookies are great. I made a batch for my children's valentines day parties and they were a hit. With half of the dough we made hearts with lollipop sticks inserted in the bottom and the kids painted them with icing. We inserted the sticks immediately after they came out of the oven. I received many requests from neighbors and preschool teachers for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This is the only cookie dough I use for all my holiday cookies. The only change I made was switching the butter flavored extract with vanilla, or sometimes almond. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morris Plains, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
These are GREAT - I didn't end up using sticks, but these are great cut out cookies! I tinted them with red food coloring to make them pink for Valentine's Day. I used 1 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract and 1/2 tablespoon almond extract. I cut them into heart shapes and used "Really good frosting" to write saying on the hearts like the conversation heart candys. The kids classes loved them on Valentine's Day. The dough is really easy to work to with, to roll and cut out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
The BEST sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried. I have a suggestion however...mix your baking powder and salt with only 3 cups of the flour and add that first, then gradually add more flour until you have a proper dough consistency. I only needed 5 cups flour in total - not 7. The flavour of these cookies is outstanding! The dough rolls out nicely and it is so easy to cut out shapes and transfer to the cookie sheet. They have a wonderful texture once baked and cooled, and hold up beautifully while decorating. My intention was to cut out "ghost" shapes for Halloween, and then stick the sticks in some sort of foam graveyard I made, but I couldn't find proper cookie sticks in the time crunch I was in. I just cut out ghost and bat shapes and decorated with frosting and coloured sugars. Can't wait for Christmas now! LOVE this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I didn't do the craft, just made the cookies with my 2 1/2 year old daugheter. The only complaint I have is that they were very hard and we tend to like them a touch softer (not too soft though!). Maybe I baked the too long? Anyway, I agree with another review that they passed the kid test! My little daughter had a great time cutting animal shapes out of this dough - which was so easy to make. I halfed the recipe, due to a lack of enough butter in the fridge, but it made MORE than enough cookies! lol Also, I didn't have butter extract, so I just did additional vanilla. I bet it's good with the butter flavor though.... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurie/Laura Pokas
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Thanks for all of your compliments cooks! Andrea - I think maybe you cooked them too long. This cookie definitely should not get hard - they are firm, yet soft. All ovens are different. Maybe try a little less flour. It's also easy to overwork your dough if you are rolling it in too much flour. Good luck on your next try! ADDITIONAL COMMENT: I have gone to using the clear Mexican vanilla in my Royal Icing - unbelievable taste and smell -- No one can eat just one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie/Laura Pokas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Easy to roll out. Kept it's shape while baking. Nice recipe. We decorate out cookies with royal icing. Thanks, Laura, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by KARENGANELEE
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very good. I also sandwiched the stick between two 1/4" cookies before baking and baked about 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States