Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I just finished baking about 80 ninja cookies for my son's birthday party which is in 2 days. The dough was ridiculously easy to make and the cookies are baking up perfectly. I'd noticed a few people mentioned that the cookies are firm and won't break if children decorate them and I can see exactly what they mean. Plus they taste amazing. This is the first time I've made cookies with cookie cutters like this and it is the only recipe I will ever use!! I read the reviews and just used some extra vanilla instead of the butter flavor and I used maybe 6 or 6 1/2 cups flour instead of 7. Definitely bake on parchment paper -- SO easy to slide right off when they are done. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These taste great but spread terribly. I'll try popping the cut-outs in the freezer prior to baking to see if that helps next time. Still a delicious cookie though! Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Would have given it 5 stars, but I had to use less flour ( about 6 cups) and only half of the butter extract . We used both traditional cut outs and the cookie cutters that leave imprints, dough held really well, did not expand as much as other recipes I've used. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Best cookies ever, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I love this recipe and have shared it with many friends. Great for party favors, I made baby girl onesie cookies for my sister-in-laws shower. I have been experimenting with the extracts, I find the butter flavor leaves an after taste. Any suggestions would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Made this recipe this evening as stated with the exception of substituting almond extract for the butter flavored extract. The dough, once chilled, is unbelievably easy to work with and bakes up perfectly in ten minutes. I rolled and cut my cookies out then placed them in the freezer for ten minutes before baking to ensure they held their shapes. Now just to decorate!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Your ingredients list butter, but the directions say margarine. Which one should I use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These cookies were fantastic! I set up a cookie decorating station at a party. They were a hit! Only change I made was I used Maple flavoring instead of the Butter flavoring...maybe just a tad less flour. Rolling them out was a little difficult but once warmed by hands it was easy to roll out. Most defiantly use this recipie for all my cut out cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made these for my future daughter-in-law's shower. Looked absolutely perfect, and tasted great! I frosted with the standard royal frosting recipe. Will definitely look for a reason to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shell
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I've made A LOT of sugar cookies in the time I've been baking but this is the best recipe to date! I halved the recipe and they came out great! I didn't have much time to decorate them but what I did do for decorating was fun! Look no further for a cut out sugar cookie recipe! EDIT: I have continued to make these cookies, the original recipe is GREAT! Sometimes I add a bit of almond extract -1/2 tsp in addition to the others (YUM)! I've made them with & without the cookie sticks, both ways were enjoyable! I find when I leave the dough in the refrigerator for a coupe of days, it works best for me. I kneed the dough a few times to loosen it up. I don't use flour for rolling it out, I use powdered sugar. Seriously, look no further for THE BEST cut out sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States