Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My kids and I made these for mother's day gifts. My kids painted clay pots and decorated them with beads. For the cookies, we made 3 different sizes of flowers, and used cookie sticks. We decorated the cookies using Wilton's buttercream icing, outlining with royal icing. The only change I made to the recipe was to use almond extract. This project was so much fun and turned out beautifully! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is definitely the best cut-out sugar cookie recipe I've found. The dough was extremely easy to work with after chilling for just 3 hours. I usually end up fighting the dough for cut-outs, but no problems at all with this recipe. The cookies are delicious and have great texture. The flower pot idea is super cute! I made this for my MIL for Mother's Day and she was thrilled. I will definitely make again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Yummy and super, super easy! I cut the recipe in 1/2 and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This cookies are great! I couldn't stop eating them as I was making them! I didn't change a thing and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Laura I read you comment about the Roayl icing...Ive never made icing before but would to with these cookies! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimelyn
Photo by becky
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This recipe is really good. The dough is so easy to work with. Sometimes I add a little almond extract for a different taste. I love these cookies plain with a cup of coffee! The best part about them is after they are baked they stay soft when you bite into them. Don't be afraid to roll out a nice thick cookie! I have made these atleast a dozen times and they have been perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grace May
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I love this recipe..This is the only one I use..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace May
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made these for an Easter party for my son's class. I made them in the shapes of Easter eggs and we decorated them and put some on dowels and some on popsicle sticks. The popsicle sticks seemed to work the best. They were easier to get in the middle of the cookies and supported them better as well. The dough was easy to use and the cookies turned out great. They had the perfect amount of sweetness for icing and even though they are durable to have on sticks, they still have a good soft consistency. Great recipe; thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
These cookies are very good. The almond extract makes them taste more special. I bought a pan that is specifically made to have a stick in it. I used some pam spray, and the key to get them out in one piece is to go around the edges when it is warm, and not wait until they are too cool to take them out. They also looked good without a stick. I bought the white icing in a tube, and all the supplies I needed at Michaels craft store. My husband and son's thought they were awsome. You can use Royal icing, if you want to make the icing youself. I made these at spring time, right around Easter. They make any Easter basket look super special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is a very good cookie to work with for both kids and adults! I have and will continue to make this recipe for yrs to come! The only thin I do different is I do NOT add vanilla extract, I always use emolsions. You can find them at hobby lobby. What they are is a thicker richer addative much like an extract but it doesn't bake out while cooking. I use one in this recipe called "sweet buttery dough" and it makes these cookies taste divine. They always look wonderful but the emolsion makes them taste equally good. There are several flavors of the emolsions such as sweet buttery dough, princess, and bouquet. They can be added to cookies, cakes, icings, ect.. Hope you will try them for yourself and agree that they make your bake goods great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maplescrew

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States