Cut-Out Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I have tried a few recipes for cut out cookies and by far this is the best one. The best part being that you do not have to chill the dough first before rolling it out. I also had to actually use more flour than the 2 1/2 cups, but that wasn't a problem. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
Great recipe. I ended up adding about 3 1/2c flour and to get it out of the mixing bowl and then had about 1/2c on the counter for rolling etc. I also added some lemon extract. Was a great little extra taste that you really couldn't taste in the dough, but the finished cookie was awesome. I frosted them with royal or butter cream icing and they always are a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
This recipe is quick and easy to make but I was not thrilled with the taste. These cookies were not buttery at all! I found them to taste way to eggy. Three eggs is too much for this recipe. Butter cookies should taste buttery not eggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
I think basically the recipe is a good one, except in the recipe it says 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, but I used much more than that to get the recipe ready to roll. After I did that it was fine for rolling out and baking. I did ice them for more flavor. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
It did require much more flour but the cookies were super easy to make and disappeared within hours! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Yes you prob will need to add more flour. One of the best things I love about this is I made this to go with a train cookie cutter set for my mom and kids for Christmas. The recipe worked great and since kids were already Hyper enough for me we decided not to decorate them and it was perfect. It wasn't over sweet and it tasted great. I recommend this for any mom trying to find something with less sugar for their kids to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Finally a sugar cookie recipe that doesn't defeat me. I needed to add more flour than recipe called for but they turned out great! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dixon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This recipe was wonderful! My five year old daughter had a blast making these. I did add a little more flour and refrigerate for a couple of hours but she got to cut them out and decorate them. We made these for something to frosting and add sprinkles to so they were sweet enough and the recipe served its purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
These are kid friendly, my 4 year old grand daughter helped me! Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
CAUTION:HORRIBLE RECIPE TOO MANY EGGS NOT NEARLY ENOUGH FLOUR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States