Cut-Out Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
These didn't work for me either. I had to add way more flour to get the dough even remotely workable. It rolled out fine after 30 mins in the fridge, and the cookies puffed up quite nicely, but they tasted really eggy (not at all sweet and/or buttery) with a dense/dry texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Altho I found it to take MUCH more than the 2.5 cups of flour stated, these cookies are WONDERFULLY buttery, they cook up quickly and lightly and we experimented with thickness and found that, except paper thin, they taste great no matter how you roll 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I agree with the others about need a LOT more flour than stated in the recipe...I thought maybe it was because I used 3 large eggs - maybe next time I will use just 2 or buy smaller eggs! Great taste in the end though and the kids had a fun time decorating them :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
The recipe was easy and fun to make! I didn't have vanilla extract so I used coconut, it filled the house with a coconutty flavor! Also I didn't know what to grease the plate like thing with, so I heavily used a stick of butter on the metal plate like thing... And I put an m'n'm in the center of each cookie! I'm so proud of myself! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I've never made bad cut-out cookies before trying this recipe. After having to add more flour they (of course) came out tasting like flour. Waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This recipe was wonderful! My five year old daughter had a blast making these. I did add a little more flour and refrigerate for a couple of hours but she got to cut them out and decorate them. We made these for something to frosting and add sprinkles to so they were sweet enough and the recipe served its purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
It did require much more flour but the cookies were super easy to make and disappeared within hours! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This recipe was too wet; and after adding all of the flour needed to roll them out the cookies are tough and dry. However, the few that I did not cut out and rolled into balls had a fantastic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I don't know if I did something or not but these never got to a consistency to roll. We ended up dropping them. They tasted fine but nothing fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I LOVE THIS RECIPE SO CHEAP AN EASY TO MAKE MY KIDS HAD SO MUCH FUN MAKING THE COOKIES MY OFFICE ATE THEM ALL SO WE HAVE TO MAKE SOME MORE FOR XMAS THANK YOU SOOOOOOOO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE WILL USE IT AGAIN AND AGAIN OH ONE MORE THING TO ADD YOU CAN PUT THIS RECIPE IN YOUR COOKIE MACHINE WORKS GREAT JENNIFER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States