Custard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I tried this twice making a serving of 7. It did not work for me. I even added an extra yolk and cornstarch the second time. I was really looking forward to it. Oh well. I guess I'll go to the store and get the cook & serve variety...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE0914

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent! I used it for "Beignets" found on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I hate to have to give such a bad review, but this sauce just isn't a good recipe. First of all, it's super thin. Watery even. I followed the directions to a T, even used whole milk, but when I let the sauce cool, even overnight, it never thickened and was like pouring milk on my gingerbread. Secondly, it was too sweet. On the gingerbread it helped, since gingerbread isn't that sweet. But just tasting it with a spoon, it was soo sugery. Thirdly, adding the vanilla after cooking, it didn't blend in at all. It just sat on top of the custard in little pools of brown and refused to mix in. It should be added with the milk during heating. I was so disappointed with how this turned out. I was able to salvage it the next day with a few extra egg yolks and some corn starch. Then it was delicious! But by then it was a completely different recipe. So I suggest you look elsewhere if you want a thick, creamy custard sauce. Try one that only uses egg yolks, as a true custard should. Also, you need to bring the milk up to a higher temperature before mixing some with the eggs. Following this recipe's instructions, the milk was barely luke warm when the sugar dissolved and I added some to the eggs. Other recipes state that the milk must be very hot when you mix it into the eggs. I'm not sure which thing contributed most to the failure of this sauce, but a complete failure it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Shame on mauigirl!! I have to blame someone on here for making me make this sauce. It was soo nice, light, not overly sweet and just darn right creamy. I was dipping in this sauce well after I had made it and in the frig! I made 1/2 a batch, which made plenty for my family of 6. While everyone loved it, my hubby said it was okay. He's not much on custards or custard stating things. So he said he could tolerate it, if I put it on something with a lot of spice like a deep pumpkin bread or spice cake. I really liked doing this sauce and followed it to a T, Thank you candy thermometer! Just one, it will save your recipe. Especially if your not expected at making sauces with eggs. Trust me, you need to pay attention to what your doing in this recipe...it's very important to follow the authors directions. But it is rather simple to make. Big thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I was looking for a sauce like my Danish grandmother used to make for gingerbread and other desserts. This fit the bill. I did reduce the amount because the recipe as written would make way too much sauce for our use. This was lovely, creamy, delicate and delicious. This is a definite keeper. Thanks so much for sharing. UPDATE I served this over crepes and sprinkled with fresh raspberries. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I backed off on the sugar just a bit and, for extra richness, I used half-and-half (light cream) rather than milk and egg yolks rather than the whole eggs. A little sweet on its own, it was perfect over fresh, unsweetened berries. Hubs said this reminded him of the same dessert he used to enjoy in one of his favorite restaurants years ago. Very nice sauce making for a simply beautiful and delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Love this recipe! I did alter it slightly, using only 1 cup of sugar, but the consistency was perfect, and the flavor just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was a little too sweet and not thick enough for my taste. Evene cutting it down to 7 servings, it still made an awful lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I love this recipe! It turns out not being too sweet and has a general smooth taste and texture. Mine was a little runny but that was because I used 2% milk. If I had had whole milk, I believe it would have turned out perfect. I didn't have any real vanilla (I only had the imitation ) so I used the same amount of Bailey's Irish Cream as I would have for the vanilla. It was DELICIOUS and I used it for crepes! Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I added 1 cup of instant rice and my kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States