Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Was so easy to make and so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This pie was way to sweet for my taste. I'm really surprised at so many raves from everyone since I generally tend to have a real 'sweet tooth'. Next time, I will cut back the sugar to a little less than 3/4 Cup of sugar and only 1 tablespoon of vanilla. I also baked my pie shell for a few minutes with a light, white egg wash. It helped keep the crust from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Loved this custard pie!!!! Tried the other custard pie recipes and the other ones tasted like eggs, gross!! This was the best custard pie yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was good. I was expecting a texture like chess pie and this was more like flan with a crust. Still very good and great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This tasted really good, but I think there may have been a little too much vanilla with two tablespoons. My pie dish wasn't deep enough (I made my own pastry), so not all of the filling fit in. I would advise to definitely blind bake the pastry, becuase it does go soggy in the centre. Overall though, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Good pie! I did change things up a bit. I used 2/3 cup of sugar, 4 jumbo eggs and added nutmeg instead of just cinnamon. I may use a bit less sugar next time still, it is good. i like the fact that i could taste the egg a bit, but it wasn't overpowering. I will make this again with these slight adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Probably the least pleasant Custard Pie I have made to date. I followed the directions exactly and found it far far too sweet, somewhat watery texture. I have made custard tarts numerous times before and don't believe it was anything that I did incorrectly. Sorry but would not do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki
Home Town: Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
definietly sugary! But oh so tasty. A great way to blow some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I was so ready for a true egg custard pie....this recipe is not it. Too much sugar and vanilla....an artificial taste? No nutmeg? I will keep looking for the taste I am after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Did I do something wrong? The result of this pie was literally scrambled eggs.. I followed exactly as the recipe said.. but I don't get it. This usually doesn't happen.. has anyone else gotten the same results? I really wanted to make this and enjoy it.. so I want to try it again.. maybe a little less eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetfanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States