Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Was so easy to make and so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This pie was way to sweet for my taste. I'm really surprised at so many raves from everyone since I generally tend to have a real 'sweet tooth'. Next time, I will cut back the sugar to a little less than 3/4 Cup of sugar and only 1 tablespoon of vanilla. I also baked my pie shell for a few minutes with a light, white egg wash. It helped keep the crust from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Loved this custard pie!!!! Tried the other custard pie recipes and the other ones tasted like eggs, gross!! This was the best custard pie yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was good. I was expecting a texture like chess pie and this was more like flan with a crust. Still very good and great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This tasted really good, but I think there may have been a little too much vanilla with two tablespoons. My pie dish wasn't deep enough (I made my own pastry), so not all of the filling fit in. I would advise to definitely blind bake the pastry, becuase it does go soggy in the centre. Overall though, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Good pie! I did change things up a bit. I used 2/3 cup of sugar, 4 jumbo eggs and added nutmeg instead of just cinnamon. I may use a bit less sugar next time still, it is good. i like the fact that i could taste the egg a bit, but it wasn't overpowering. I will make this again with these slight adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Probably the least pleasant Custard Pie I have made to date. I followed the directions exactly and found it far far too sweet, somewhat watery texture. I have made custard tarts numerous times before and don't believe it was anything that I did incorrectly. Sorry but would not do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki
Home Town: Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
definietly sugary! But oh so tasty. A great way to blow some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I was so ready for a true egg custard pie....this recipe is not it. Too much sugar and vanilla....an artificial taste? No nutmeg? I will keep looking for the taste I am after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Did I do something wrong? The result of this pie was literally scrambled eggs.. I followed exactly as the recipe said.. but I don't get it. This usually doesn't happen.. has anyone else gotten the same results? I really wanted to make this and enjoy it.. so I want to try it again.. maybe a little less eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetfanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States