Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
very pleased with pie, however was looking for a better custard. The taste was great. Texture a bit curdy. I was hoping for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My husbands favorite pie is custard. When I made this pie he was in heaven. The evaporated milk added extra creaminess to the custard. I added nutmeg to the custard and it is so good. I didn't feel making my own pie crust so this recipe if made with this measurement will fill two 8" pre made pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Our family didn't like this one much at all. Like someone else said, it was very "egg-y", and the texture was spongy, not creamy. I had been expecting a more pudding-like texture ("custard"), but it was more like a soggy flan-type dish. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Awesome! Have made this pie a staple in our house. Husband loves it. Very easy to make. Always use a shortbread pie crust bought from the store. The crust forms on the top and is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great tasting and very easy to make. Recipe made enough for me to use in two pie shells I needed to use up. Baked in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes and noticed shells were getting dark, so I turned down the temp to 325 and finished baking for about 15 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Country Club Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Yum! This pie was quick to prepare and didn't dirty a lot of dishes in the process. It smells wonderful while cooking and the flavor reminds me of a cinnamon egg nog, something you might bake on Christmas Eve. My family loved this dessert, especially served cold. The pie needed only 45 minutes in my oven, but that may be because I baked my ready-made pie crust for ten minutes at 400 degrees before turning the oven down to put in the pie. I would suggest checking it for doneness at about 45 minutes because 60 minutes would have burned mine. My 12-year old loved the pie, but said that it tasted a little "eggy" to him at first, so I might use only three eggs next time instead of four. A note to novice cooks like me: I had never used evaporated milk in a recipe before and almost made the mistake of mixing it with water to make "milk" before adding it to the other ingredients. Don't do this; add it dry. Also, I used a 9-inch pie crust instead of the 8-inch crust the recipe calls for and found I had pie filling left over that wouldn't fit into the 9-inch crust. Next time I make this pie I will use a 10-inch crust. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Tasted too much like egg and it was too sweet for me. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
The taste was good but it was too eggy and it wasn't creamy. it was like a sweet egg. maybe i didn't do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April D.
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great quick dessert pie made with simple ingredients you probably have in your pantry. I like that it's sweet but not too much so and it is a nice change of pace from a fruit type pie. This would be nice for a brunch, even made into individual tartlets for guests because it isn't too rich. Very good recipe. I also dusted mine with a mixture of cinnamon and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this pie for dinner and it was fantastic. A++++ Job on this one. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States