Custard Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Without a doubt, bread pudding is my husband's favorite dessert. We are pretty good foodies and he has eaten bread pudding all over the country and probably in every restaurant in NOLA. I have made different recipes many, many times at home. I made this recipe last night. He says this is absolutely, positively the BEST he has ever eaten. I agree. I bake my own bread but I followed the recipe exactly. I always use a butterscotch, caramel sauce with bourbon from Bon Appetite magazine. EXTRAORDINARY! This will be "the" bread pudding forever. No reason to try anything else. Oh, did I mention, IT'S EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This recipe makes the absolute best Bread Pudding on earth! last week we bought a big box of Krispy Cream Donuts, that my friends daughters school was selling as a fund raiser. We are not really a fan of those donuts, but, I bought them to help out the school band. I was so darn happy that I did. I tore apart those donuts and used them in this recipe instead of bread. A gigantic OMG...The absolute best we have ever eaten. I do have one suggestion. I made ours in a very tall bake pan. This made the Custard part sink to the bottom and it turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I love this recipe. I've made it three times and it always comes out so good! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very good, I used fat free half and half, and 3 whole wheat hoagie buns, and 3/4 cup sugar ( to my taste ). We have drizzled this pudding with caramel sauce and added chopped walnuts. Yum! I'm going to try another reviewers ginger bread and vanilla, it sounds good. Just need to find a good gingerbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VAL GAL
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Amazing! My husband and I have been trying different bread pudding recipes and this is the one. I used 7 slices of bread because they were not thick. I sprinkled on lots of raisins and cinnamon. Will make this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It's easy and I used ginger bread with a little extra vanilla. Smells so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Here it is - AT LAST!!! I don't need to taste it in my mouth, my brain is doing the tasting based on ingredients. This is the same recipe my mum used ( except she did'nt have a written recipe) and I have been looking for this for a looonnnng time. I even have my sister lookingfor it. Here's what tipped me off. More custard than bread - check, raisins - check. Baked in a "slow" oven forever ( that is more than an hour at 300° ) - check. Wow! I'm going to make some tomorrow and surprise her with it! Bread pudding yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made this recipe last night and it is fantastic. More custard than bread pudding but full of yummy old fashioned goodness. I will be making this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
loved it , totally fab.... worth every spoon, i made two batches both were amazing,this is the best bread pudding i ever made thanks for the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmina Shahdin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States