Custard Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
OMG…the holy grail of bread pudding!!!! Used leftover challah bread from my bread machine adventures(got so lazy I just let it be a loaf instead of removing and braiding). It was sooo good kinda makes me want to add some whisky to it for a little zing. No sauce needed because it stays so moist. But again I feel the need to put liquor in this….not sure why but it is absolutely delicious as is !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing, I was afraid I would never be able to try my grandfather's perfect bread pudding again , I was wrong thanks to you! God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
loved it , totally fab.... worth every spoon, i made two batches both were amazing,this is the best bread pudding i ever made thanks for the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmina Shahdin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Here it is - AT LAST!!! I don't need to taste it in my mouth, my brain is doing the tasting based on ingredients. This is the same recipe my mum used ( except she did'nt have a written recipe) and I have been looking for this for a looonnnng time. I even have my sister lookingfor it. Here's what tipped me off. More custard than bread - check, raisins - check. Baked in a "slow" oven forever ( that is more than an hour at 300° ) - check. Wow! I'm going to make some tomorrow and surprise her with it! Bread pudding yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very good, I used fat free half and half, and 3 whole wheat hoagie buns, and 3/4 cup sugar ( to my taste ). We have drizzled this pudding with caramel sauce and added chopped walnuts. Yum! I'm going to try another reviewers ginger bread and vanilla, it sounds good. Just need to find a good gingerbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This recipe makes the absolute best Bread Pudding on earth! last week we bought a big box of Krispy Cream Donuts, that my friends daughters school was selling as a fund raiser. We are not really a fan of those donuts, but, I bought them to help out the school band. I was so darn happy that I did. I tore apart those donuts and used them in this recipe instead of bread. A gigantic OMG...The absolute best we have ever eaten. I do have one suggestion. I made ours in a very tall bake pan. This made the Custard part sink to the bottom and it turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VAL GAL
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Amazing! My husband and I have been trying different bread pudding recipes and this is the one. I used 7 slices of bread because they were not thick. I sprinkled on lots of raisins and cinnamon. Will make this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made this recipe last night and it is fantastic. More custard than bread pudding but full of yummy old fashioned goodness. I will be making this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It's easy and I used ginger bread with a little extra vanilla. Smells so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Without a doubt, bread pudding is my husband's favorite dessert. We are pretty good foodies and he has eaten bread pudding all over the country and probably in every restaurant in NOLA. I have made different recipes many, many times at home. I made this recipe last night. He says this is absolutely, positively the BEST he has ever eaten. I agree. I bake my own bread but I followed the recipe exactly. I always use a butterscotch, caramel sauce with bourbon from Bon Appetite magazine. EXTRAORDINARY! This will be "the" bread pudding forever. No reason to try anything else. Oh, did I mention, IT'S EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States