Curtido (El Salvadoran Cabbage Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was excellent with fish tacos but it makes me wish we had a place around here to get pupusas. I don't know how to make them and I have a feeling it's one of those things that looks easier than it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristy
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I skipped the oregano and added a minced jalapeno. The kids didn't touch it but that just left more for me. Have been eating the leftovers on bean burritos and think I can say this is my favorite "slaw" type salad ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Deliciously simple! I love this recipe, but I always add a fresh pureed tomato, too, right before tossing together all the ingredients. It adds another layer of flavor that I just can't do without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
It was super easy to make and delicious. I opted to add some tomato sauce for a bit of color, as I am use to have curtido with a bit of tomato here in Los Angeles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlovsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Curtido (cabbage slaw) is a great light alternative to the mayo based Slaw. I travel to El Salvador quite allot and absolutely love the pupas with this slaw and tomato sauce on side. But I made this slaw to go along with my pulled pork sandwiches. I did add 1/2diced jalapeño to spice up. Mexican oregano is more pungent which Is okay with me. It's a preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
The recipe is fine, but the description is not accurate. Curtido does not go inside of pupusas. It's served on the side after the pupusas are cooked. One should open the pupusa to expose the cheese (and/or beans/pork, etc.) This helps to cool it off. Then one should rip off a bite size piece of the pupusa and pinch a bite of curtido into that piece before eating. Some also like to pour salsa on top of the curtido before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I agree with T.L. Curtido doesn't go inside the pupusas. It is served on the side. I like to cut up the pupusa and have some of the curtido (and tomato sauce) with each bite of the pupusa. Most of my friends puree a couple of roma tomatoes by themselves and use that as the tomato sauce that is usually served with pupusas. The sauce can be pretty bland as is but the curtido has strong flavors, therefore, the bland tomato puree kind of mellows it out. Talking about strong flavors, I don't use quite as much vinegar for the curtido as a personal preference. However, the amount stated in this recipe is right and it yields a very authentic curtido. It is supposed to taste vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Pretty good recipe, I add less vinegar for personal taste and add a pinch of salt and pepper. I put this slaw on top of flat crunchy tortillas with mince meat, a slice of boiled egg and grated white hard cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
A excellent recipe I love curtido so yummy with the papusa's. I did use Mexican Oregano as it gives a much stronger flavor that is just my preferance. This also made a wonderful stuffing for my vegetarian tacos and burrritos. As for the food police comments here it does not matter how one likes to eat their curtido, whether it be stuffed inside, thrown on the top, eaten with hands,fork and a knife ect.. just friggin enjoy this wonderful delicious recipe so gracefully supplied by a lovely member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
i used this as a starting point to make a vinegary latiny cole slaw.. just added some season salt, garlic powder, and extra vinegar.. i only used 1 tsp of oregano (Mexican) and it that was plenty.. ty for the starting point for my side dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States