Curtido (El Salvadoran Cabbage Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
The recipe is fine, but the description is not accurate. Curtido does not go inside of pupusas. It's served on the side after the pupusas are cooked. One should open the pupusa to expose the cheese (and/or beans/pork, etc.) This helps to cool it off. Then one should rip off a bite size piece of the pupusa and pinch a bite of curtido into that piece before eating. Some also like to pour salsa on top of the curtido before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
A excellent recipe I love curtido so yummy with the papusa's. I did use Mexican Oregano as it gives a much stronger flavor that is just my preferance. This also made a wonderful stuffing for my vegetarian tacos and burrritos. As for the food police comments here it does not matter how one likes to eat their curtido, whether it be stuffed inside, thrown on the top, eaten with hands,fork and a knife ect.. just friggin enjoy this wonderful delicious recipe so gracefully supplied by a lovely member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I agree with T.L. Curtido doesn't go inside the pupusas. It is served on the side. I like to cut up the pupusa and have some of the curtido (and tomato sauce) with each bite of the pupusa. Most of my friends puree a couple of roma tomatoes by themselves and use that as the tomato sauce that is usually served with pupusas. The sauce can be pretty bland as is but the curtido has strong flavors, therefore, the bland tomato puree kind of mellows it out. Talking about strong flavors, I don't use quite as much vinegar for the curtido as a personal preference. However, the amount stated in this recipe is right and it yields a very authentic curtido. It is supposed to taste vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I skipped the oregano and added a minced jalapeno. The kids didn't touch it but that just left more for me. Have been eating the leftovers on bean burritos and think I can say this is my favorite "slaw" type salad ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this specifically for Pupusas. Alone, I am not a big fan but, pair it with pupusas and it is awesome. I followed the directions as written (here is the but...) but, doubled the recipe. My husband thought it tasted better than the stuff we got at the El Salvadoran restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was excellent with fish tacos but it makes me wish we had a place around here to get pupusas. I don't know how to make them and I have a feeling it's one of those things that looks easier than it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Deliciously simple! I love this recipe, but I always add a fresh pureed tomato, too, right before tossing together all the ingredients. It adds another layer of flavor that I just can't do without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was delicious, my only comment is that if you are using Mexican oregano, I recommend you cut it down to one (1) teaspoon, as two teaspoons was absolutely too much. Half an hour later, I can still taste it. Fantastic with pupusas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Pretty good recipe, I add less vinegar for personal taste and add a pinch of salt and pepper. I put this slaw on top of flat crunchy tortillas with mince meat, a slice of boiled egg and grated white hard cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
love this recipe, although I added "Goya Sazon", and pinch of my homemade "sofrito".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deniseoyola1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States