Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I have been searching far and wide for a recipe for Tikka Masala that tastes like my favortie Indian resturant down the street. None have come close. This one is almost identical. Next time I make it, I will cut the cayenne in half. I have wimpy taste buds! Thank you so much Chris! This is the recipe I have been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. While it may seem like a lot of work, to the uninitiated, it is completely worth every second. I didn't change a thing, it's perfect the way it is. This has become a staple in my house. It freezes well, and even storing in the fridge as leftovers- reheats superbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diochick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Ringgold, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
YEP! Try this recipe! Turns out scarily close to what I get at my local Indian restaurant and the hubby and I enjoyed the leftovers the next night as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Sweet Baby Jesus! This is THE Tikka Masala recipe for the masses as well as the elites! Simple to prepare and wonderful to consume! I recommend preparing this dish just as it is written...then modify if you want. The recipe here provides a wonderful dish with a little heat but not a burn. PERFECT IN MY OPINION! I like heat and will probably add more next time but it is not necessary as this dish is absolutely perfect the way it is. Golf clap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is amazing and has saved us money since we no longer have to go to an Indian resturant. Couple of notes if you are going to alter this in any way, the portion of cream to tomato is very important or the flavor will be off, I had two 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce and used both, simply added two additional tablespoons of cream and it was perfect. Also the curry is a must in this! When tasting the recipe before adding the chicken thought it didn't have the right balance, after the chicken was added and the curry blended into the sauce...Wow! So if you are going to try making a veg variation with chickpeas or paneer, suggest adding the curry for the chicken directly into the sauce. Such a fantastic and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used to use a different Tikka Masala recipe that was on this site. I have deleted that one from my recipe box!!! This has a great flavour and I make it with out too much spice as my stomach doesn't like too much cayenne but my hubby can add more when I serve. I like to marinate my chicken in plain yogurt with some curry, tiny bit of cayenne, cinnamon and bit of turmeric for a couple hours and then skewer and bbq, then I pull it off the skewer and add to the sauce, also add some peas or green beans for a little veggie! Thank you thank you thank you for submitting this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent. Just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme Lynch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was easy to make and tastes great! My husband has been to India many times and he says this is the closest he's had to a good curry since being over there and we've been to lots of Indian Restaurants. Next time we are going to add some potato to it and see how we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Good recipe and outstanding comments!! Motivated me to give it a try, marinated the chicken beforehand overnight, was luxurious! The masala needed a little something, was good to start with, comments really work for this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eatimacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. We had some leftover heavy cream from an appetizer I made for a Super Bowl party. I saw this recipe and decided to try it. My husband was home from work and he is actually the one who made it, so I don't know if he made any changes. If I had to guess, I would say he added more curry. I really want to make this again, but I don't usually cook with cream. It may be reserved for special occasions or I may try it with light coconut milk instead of the cream. Thanks for the recipe. It was a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States