Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I have been searching far and wide for a recipe for Tikka Masala that tastes like my favortie Indian resturant down the street. None have come close. This one is almost identical. Next time I make it, I will cut the cayenne in half. I have wimpy taste buds! Thank you so much Chris! This is the recipe I have been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. While it may seem like a lot of work, to the uninitiated, it is completely worth every second. I didn't change a thing, it's perfect the way it is. This has become a staple in my house. It freezes well, and even storing in the fridge as leftovers- reheats superbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diochick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Ringgold, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
YEP! Try this recipe! Turns out scarily close to what I get at my local Indian restaurant and the hubby and I enjoyed the leftovers the next night as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Sweet Baby Jesus! This is THE Tikka Masala recipe for the masses as well as the elites! Simple to prepare and wonderful to consume! I recommend preparing this dish just as it is written...then modify if you want. The recipe here provides a wonderful dish with a little heat but not a burn. PERFECT IN MY OPINION! I like heat and will probably add more next time but it is not necessary as this dish is absolutely perfect the way it is. Golf clap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is amazing and has saved us money since we no longer have to go to an Indian resturant. Couple of notes if you are going to alter this in any way, the portion of cream to tomato is very important or the flavor will be off, I had two 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce and used both, simply added two additional tablespoons of cream and it was perfect. Also the curry is a must in this! When tasting the recipe before adding the chicken thought it didn't have the right balance, after the chicken was added and the curry blended into the sauce...Wow! So if you are going to try making a veg variation with chickpeas or paneer, suggest adding the curry for the chicken directly into the sauce. Such a fantastic and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used to use a different Tikka Masala recipe that was on this site. I have deleted that one from my recipe box!!! This has a great flavour and I make it with out too much spice as my stomach doesn't like too much cayenne but my hubby can add more when I serve. I like to marinate my chicken in plain yogurt with some curry, tiny bit of cayenne, cinnamon and bit of turmeric for a couple hours and then skewer and bbq, then I pull it off the skewer and add to the sauce, also add some peas or green beans for a little veggie! Thank you thank you thank you for submitting this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent. Just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme Lynch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was easy to make and tastes great! My husband has been to India many times and he says this is the closest he's had to a good curry since being over there and we've been to lots of Indian Restaurants. Next time we are going to add some potato to it and see how we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Having said that, I am a health freak who loves curry and Indian food and cannot eat full fat/calorie versions, so I often tweak mine. This recipe is amazing as is and is better than what most Indian restaurants serve. To make it healthier, I used an 8 oz.can of tomato sauce, a 6 oz.can of tomato paste, and 1 cup of fat-free half and half. The tomato paste will compensate for the liquidity of the fat-free half and half. I also used about 1 tbs of olive oil in place of ghee, and used a little olive oil spray when I added the spices to the onions. For the chicken, I marinated it in a yogurt/spice mixture and broiled it in the oven before mixing it with the tikka curry. Like I said, original version is 10 stars, and IMHO so is the reduced fat version. I served it with whole wheat homemade roti and roasted peppers/green beans. My Pakistani husband was more than impressed with the flavors and refused to believe it was healthy! Thank you for this amazing recipe that will become a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
So glad I found this recipe! It's exactly what I was looking for: Cheap, easy, and delicious. Make sure you don't forget to garnish with a little chopped cilantro at the end - it finishes the dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States