Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I first had Chicken Tikka Masala in San Deigo in August. Thought I'd give it a try. Made it the first time for guests. Brave huh? It was great! I will make the extra sauce and freeze it for later. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My husband swears its from the restaraunt! He enjoyed it so much he asked me to make it again a week later! He never takes food to work, but he did with this dish!! So flavorful. I doubled the ingredients this time so we'd have more leftovers!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this as stated and it competes with some I've had from local restaurants. I found that I enjoyed leftovers more as the sauce thickened quite a bit after refrigerating. The initial consistency was a little on the watery side for me ... Probably just needed some more simmering time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
So so so so so so good! My family devoured this. My sister in particular went back for seconds again and again. I didn't have turmeric or tomato sauce so I subbed in more curry powder and a can of diced tomatoes. Besides that and doubling the amount of cayenne, I followed the recipe exactly. The creaminess hits just the right notes. Thank you so much for this recipe! It won't be long before I make it again-- my sister is practically begging for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanaid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is amazingly flavorful and so incredibly easy to make! I doubled the amount for all the spices except cumin; instead of tomato sauce, I used a 4oz packet of tomato paste and mixed it with 10oz of milk. Truly amazing! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is such a great recipe! I'm vegetarian so I make it with chickpeas instead, and with skim milk instead of whipping cream but it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My boyfriend is a Chicken Tikka Masala addict, so I thought I'd make it at home for his birthday. This is now a permanent recipe we make for dinner on a regular basis. Out of all the versions on this site, we feel this is the best! It's even better than our local Indian restaurant! Some changes I've made: I do NOT add the optional sugar or salt at the end. it's perfect without it. Also, instead of 4 chicken breasts I only use two, we like a more sauce to chicken ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Have made this recipe several times. I have also dabbled with authentic Indian curried chicken recipes using the individual spices and after making this I will probably never go crazy with individual measuring of the spices and just use curry powder. Had leftovers one day at work and people asked me to make enough for them next time. Simple and full of flavor. I have tweaked the recipe slightly by using coconut milk instead of cream. Can't say it tastes better or worse or how it effects the consistency since I have never used cream in the recipe, but you cant go wrong using coconut milk in an Indian recipe. I also found that I needed(wanted) a lot more of the curry powder to get a full flavor. This recipe also serves as a great vegetarian alternative. I have used beans, potatoes, peas and carrots and corn. Throw it over some Basmati rice and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe. Add or delete to your taste, but I love it as is. I also use it with chickpeas instead of chicken for a great vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for adventurous adults or those used to Indian cuisine. My family doesn't enjoy traditional Indian food much but I was feeling froggy. My 3 yo hated it with a passion lol but my burger and fries husband really liked it, especially after a generous topping of chopped cilantro (TRY IT!!). I doubled the recipe and used reg butter, half and half, & halved the heat subbing 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes for the double batch. I only had about 1 lb ckn so I lightly fried 3 lg cubed potatoes in a sprinkling of salt, pepper, sugar, onion powder and curry. Did the same for the cubed ckn. I think the potato and cilantro are a must for this recipe. Also, even after cutting the heat, it still had a pleasant tingle to it (btw I am a fan of spicy). Had I followed the recipe this would have been nearly too spicy to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003

Displaying results 71-80 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States