Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this recipe for my friends and family last night. It was perfect and tasted beautiful. Thanks for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I'm a big fan of Indian food and this is the BEST homemade tikka masala I've tried. The only change I made was using regular butter instead of ghee. I love that I could easily find the ingredients in my cupboard or fridge and didn't need to go to a specialty shop. Thanks so much for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I haven't reviewed a recipe here in a long time but I had to add my voice to the resounding raves for this dish. Indian food is the cuisine I have the least experience with and I honestly didn't know what to expect from the mixture of spices as I was making this. However, I was looking for something different and hoped for the best. This dish is absolutely delicious. It has a very complex flavor- sweet, hot, tangy, spicy- every component adds to it and I can't imagine omitting a thing. The only thing I did differently was that I used boneless chicken thighs, as it was what I had, and they became tender and moist in the sauce. This recipe makes a lot of sauce and in the future I will double that and freeze some (as some reviewers say it freezes well). It was so delicious, my fiance and I are already talking about when we will make it next! Next time I may try adding in some chickpeas or cubed potatoes or squash when I'm sauteeing the chicken, to soak up every bit of the delicious sauce. But I wouldn't omit or change the ratio of spices, as it's perfect as-is. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I absolutely LOVED it. It is super easy and tastes great, I added 1 tsp Garam Masala and 1/4 tsp Coriander for more authentic flavor. In my opinion the spiciness level is just right, but I love spicy foods :) I served it with Jasmin rice and Naan (Indian bread) My new favorite recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Awesome just like best Indian restaurants! Thank you to whomever posted this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
AMAZING! I tripled the amount so I could have a bunch of it separated in ziploc bags in the freezer for a quick meal. I throw in some sliced bell peppers while it simmers with the chicken to make it a whole meal. Definitely serve it over rice so none of the sauce goes to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I've made this recipe twice, and it is SOOO good and simple to make. This is coming from a woman who has only learned how to cook in the past 6 months. It does take time, but it is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Delicious!! For those of us that like the heat mild, I like to halve the cayenne pepper - it gives a little kick, but it won't leave your mouth burning. I always substitute unsalted butter for ghee with no problems. Also, I've tried making this with heavy cream as stated, half-and-half, and whole milk (the only thing I had at the time!) and I absolutely recommend using HEAVY CREAM unless you have no other choice. The creaminess of the heavy cream seems to mellow out the acidity from the tomato sauce and the heat from the cayenne, and the result is a superior curry compared to the half-and-half and milk versions. Thank you for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I have used this site a lot for recipes but I just joined to let everyone know this recipe is the bomb! I've made it probably ten times and I never tire of it. The only thing I do differently is I hit the sauce with an immersion blender once it's all together and I take out half of the sauce before adding the chicken and freeze it. There's only two of us and I use half the meat it calls for. I use a combination of breast and thigh meat. It works out perfectly making the full amount of sauce, removing and freezing half then adding the chicken to what's left. I have also doubled this recipe and frozen individual pints of the sauce for later use and that worked just as well. I will be making this for the rest of my life. Thanks Chris!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States