Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Have made this recipe several times. I have also dabbled with authentic Indian curried chicken recipes using the individual spices and after making this I will probably never go crazy with individual measuring of the spices and just use curry powder. Had leftovers one day at work and people asked me to make enough for them next time. Simple and full of flavor. I have tweaked the recipe slightly by using coconut milk instead of cream. Can't say it tastes better or worse or how it effects the consistency since I have never used cream in the recipe, but you cant go wrong using coconut milk in an Indian recipe. I also found that I needed(wanted) a lot more of the curry powder to get a full flavor. This recipe also serves as a great vegetarian alternative. I have used beans, potatoes, peas and carrots and corn. Throw it over some Basmati rice and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe. Add or delete to your taste, but I love it as is. I also use it with chickpeas instead of chicken for a great vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for adventurous adults or those used to Indian cuisine. My family doesn't enjoy traditional Indian food much but I was feeling froggy. My 3 yo hated it with a passion lol but my burger and fries husband really liked it, especially after a generous topping of chopped cilantro (TRY IT!!). I doubled the recipe and used reg butter, half and half, & halved the heat subbing 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes for the double batch. I only had about 1 lb ckn so I lightly fried 3 lg cubed potatoes in a sprinkling of salt, pepper, sugar, onion powder and curry. Did the same for the cubed ckn. I think the potato and cilantro are a must for this recipe. Also, even after cutting the heat, it still had a pleasant tingle to it (btw I am a fan of spicy). Had I followed the recipe this would have been nearly too spicy to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Awesome! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichole T
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Crowd pleaser! We used a package of tofu & 1 chicken breast for the meat. Also added a bit more heat, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
delicious! i made this recipe almost exactly as described, except i used margarine instead of ghee, a tsp of garlic powder instead of minced fresh garlic, and because i don't care for onion i used only half of one and liquified it in a blender first. instead of pan grilling the chicken, i just chopped up the raw chicken and cooked it directly in the pot with the sauce, adding the curry powder into the sauce instead of the chicken, which made the chicken very tender and flavourful. served over fresh basmati rice with oven baked naan bread for dipping! great flavour to this recipe, and it refrigerates and freezes perfectly so its easy to stock up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this for my husband and he loved it. It's fairly simple to make but requires some prep work. Like most cooks, I added a few extra spices here and there to make it my own. Served with rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was excellent. Not 100% like the tikka masala at my favorite restaurant but as close as I'll ever get and really delicious! Even the bf who is not a huge fan of Indian food liked it. I did tweak it a little. Dialed down the sugar and upped the cayenne. Also used less salt. I had some hot madras curry powder so I used a dash of that as well. A tip for cream newbies: heavy cream and whipping cream are pretty much the same and interchangeable in a recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Wonderful recipe...it's been added to our family's comfort food list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Very good, will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States