Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Very good, will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband is obsessed with this. I make it all the time and it has become a staple at our place. I'm South Asian, so I know good chicken tikka masala well, and this is it. The only things I did differently 1) cut the chicken while raw into pieces and marinate in a ziploc bag in tandoori chicken masala for minimum 1 hr in the refrigerator. The tandoori chicken masala mix can be found in little Shaan or MDS boxes at international / indian stores. 1) I use chili powder (indian) in place of the cayenne pepper - but you have to be very careful with this, I believe it is spicier than cayenne pepper. It's more authentic that way. I use less tomato sauce, as well - just 8 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I made this one night for dinner after work - I bought a huge box of frozen chicken and am searching for interesting ways to cook it. I was craving something with a lot of flavor and I sure found the right recipe. I had to substitute some fresh ginger for the powder and some half and half for the cream, but I could swear I was eating something from a real Indian restaurant. So good we are taking this to our Christmas pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Best recipe for Chicken Tikka Masala that I have made! So delicious! Tastes just like the restaurant! I did cut the cayenne in half, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Having said that, I am a health freak who loves curry and Indian food and cannot eat full fat/calorie versions, so I often tweak mine. This recipe is amazing as is and is better than what most Indian restaurants serve. To make it healthier, I used an 8 oz.can of tomato sauce, a 6 oz.can of tomato paste, and 1 cup of fat-free half and half. The tomato paste will compensate for the liquidity of the fat-free half and half. I also used about 1 tbs of olive oil in place of ghee, and used a little olive oil spray when I added the spices to the onions. For the chicken, I marinated it in a yogurt/spice mixture and broiled it in the oven before mixing it with the tikka curry. Like I said, original version is 10 stars, and IMHO so is the reduced fat version. I served it with whole wheat homemade roti and roasted peppers/green beans. My Pakistani husband was more than impressed with the flavors and refused to believe it was healthy! Thank you for this amazing recipe that will become a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This recipe is amazing. This was my first time cooking anything so exotic, and not only was it easy it was a lot of fun! If you're sensitive to spice, go easy on the curry and probably omit the red pepper that's recommended. I like it spicy so I kick it up and it's awesome! And it's even better the second time around as left overs! I've had to get kind of creative on several occasions due to lack of an ingredient and it's come out delicious every time. No ginger? No problem. You can use regular milk to substitute the heavy whipping cream (and probably a lot of calories). And in place of the ghee don't hesitate to use regular butter with a tablespoon of cooking oil. But try not to stray too far from the original recipe, it really is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Oh Hells ya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I love this recipe....added fresh cilantro and basil garnish and a can of diced spiced tomatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was excellent, the family loved it. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was my first masala and it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States