Curry Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Just tried this today with some alterations and it came out great. I had a smoked ham bone so I simmered it in 14 cups water for a few hours and used that for a base instead of chicken cubes. Tossed in about a pound of the smoked ham, including the meat that fell off the bone. Also left out the salt and let the full 1 lb bag of peas soak in water while the bone cooked. End result is a bit lighter, a little more liquid, and a tad spicier than regular split pea soup but very good! Had it with cheese bagels which soaked up all the liquid. It's starting to thicken more as it cools. I plan to use leftovers with rice tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Congratulations on a great soup recipe! Here are some general comments: (1) don't use split peas that have been sitting in the cupboard for a long time; it will be worthwhile to go out and buy a new package (2) cooking it the day before you are actually eat it makes an huge difference in subtle flavors (3) Vegans and vegetarians can use vegetable broth rather than chicken broth (4) the olive oil could be skipped to reduce the fat content - just add the lemon to some vegetable broth. In addition, I will try the following tweaks when I make it again: (1) add 1 large chopped potato along with the carrots to increase the smoothness (2) reduce the the black pepper to 2 tsp and add more if necessary (3) replace the cayenne pepper with maybe 6 roasted and seeded jalapeno peppers in order to enhance flavors even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Yes, I made some changes to it and it was delicious. I used 2-32 ounces low sodium chicken broth, can of coconut milk and the zest of one lemon. I did not add salt. Made like this I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Easy to prepare, I used a food processor to blend the first ingredients and that was a snap. Love the flavor the spices bring out. Makes a TON of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flower
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very good soup. For me, it ended up needing 12 cups of water because I used 2 to blend the veggies. From reading someone else's review, I used 1 teaspoon of salt because bouillon cubes also have salt in it. I also used 1 teaspoon black pepper because curry has some heat to it and I didn't want it to be too spicy. I didn't add any cayenne pepper at all. I used a whole 16oz bag of peas because after 2 cups there was only about 1/4 left. It turned out awesome....Everyone loved it! I've already passed on my revision of the recipe to 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this soup using a pressure cooker to speed up cooking time. I had to cook on high setting for total of 45min, for the peas to be soft/creamy. Didn't have to puree the peas at all - the final product was pretty smooth. Love the idea of pureeing the cooked veg first - was able to get the celery in for flavor, without my husband noticing! As I was preparing this, my husband almost turned up his nose when I told him what it was. After he tried it, and ate 3 bowls of it, he said "don't touch this recipe - it's perfect!" I omitted the cayenne, and used MSG-free, gluten-free, veg soup base (Instant VegeBase low-sodium granules by Vogue Cuisine), because of my husband's dietary restrictions, and it turned out perfect - not too salty. Loved the curry, too! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I didn't have carrots or celery, so I used parsnips instead. Also, I left out the salt. In my opinion, any dish that has bouillon doesn't need salt added - the bouillon is already quite salty! I only used one or two tsp of curry powder, and it was still almost too spicy for me! (Probably because I used the curry powder from the Indian store - it's much more potent than the American version!) I think I'll make it again, but with still less curry powder. It might also be good with some cubed potatoes in it - they're in lots of Indian dishes. We ate it with naan bread, which was a nice complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious! I boiled the peas separately in water for half an hour before adding it to the soup, and they were the perfect consistency. I also went a bit easier on the pepper and added 2 tbsp. of turmeric. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it was very tasty. A nice change from the traditional soup recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Really good flavor! I didn't find it salty at all (we use himalayan salt). We not fans of spice and this was just a tad bit too spicy for us. I imagine it would be perfect for someone who really likes spicy. Everyone roots to have it again with just a little less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States