Curry Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
very spicy, try half of the spices instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was fantastic! I was lazy and didn't blend the veggies, and I found my dried peas were still rather firm after a couple of hours on the stove. Next time I will try blending them. Regardless of blending, the soup smelled amazing and tasted even better. This is now one of my favorites. I already bought another bag of dried peas to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Thanks for this Recipe! Totally Awesome Soup! Flavour is perfect. Texture creamy and smooth. I simplified as follows: Recalculated servings to 6; Then substituted: 2 packs of True Lemon Crystalized Lemon for the juice. Didn't have any lemons /lemon juice. (This is a great product, by the way, keeps a long time on the self, all natural, no added anything, just powdered, crystalized lemon, also comes in lime.) 3 cups Low Sodium Chicken Broth for water and bouillon. ( Don't need or want a bunch of salt.) Reduced: Salt to 1/2 tsp. Reduced: Fresh Ground Black Pepper to 1/2 tsp. (Fresh ground is more potent. Didn't want to overwhelm the other flavors. Put everything in a 4 qt Crock Pot on High for 3 hrs. Took imersion blender and blended the whole soup up in the Crock Pot when cooking time was done. Fantastic Texture and Flavour! Thanks so much for this recipe. A definate keeper! Served with BLT's! (I use fake, soy bacon by Gardenburger)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
An awesomely different soup, I really enjoyed it. A couple of things...first of all it's very salty- don't add the total amount of salt suggested, 1 T, if any additional at all. I added half that amount and it was too much. I also cut every spice in half and that was enough for me. I thought it tasted highly spiced and very complex with half the spices. I'd suggest starting with half and then adding more if you think it needs it and with the salt just leaving it out till you taste it. I used yellow split peas, I thought the color would be a bit more appetizing. I also presoaked the peas and still ended up cooking the soup over twice as long as the recipe called for to get the peas to be tender enough. This recipe sounds a bit farfetched but really, if you have adventurous tastebuds try it, it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This recipe is very flavourful. I didn't have any carrots so I substituted two large tomatoes for the vegetable puree. I also omitted italian seasoning and instead used 1 teaspoon of dried oregano. I also used 6 bullion cubes (instead of 8). I salted to taste and probably used no more than 1 1/2 teaspoon of salt. If you have a hand blender, you can skip the refrigeration/blending step. I followed the instructions for simmering the vegetables, and then I took it off the heat, let it cool off a little and then used my hand blender right in the stainless steel pot. Next, I heated up some water, added the 6 bullion cubes and transferred the broth to the soup pot. In total, this soup simmered for about 2 hours, and the flavours and aroma are wonderful. I totally in love with it. Thanks for such a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I cut the recipe in half making 10 servings at 2 weight watchers points each :) This was delicious! Full of flavor, low in fat and perfectly rich. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I omitted the salt, and used a large tomato instead of 1 1/2 carrots when I cut this recipe in half. This has good flavor once you are used to the strength of the pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Good flavour, but I found it to be quite salty. I'd taste first before adding the suggested tablespoon of salt. With all of the chicken bouillon and spices, it's certainly flavorful enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri St. Louis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I thought this soup was delicious. My husband said he didn't like curry so I used one tsp intead of four, like the recipe called for. He liked it. However, it took two hours for the peas to get soft, not 45 minutes. But well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This soup is wonderful!! I should have simmered it at a higher heat because my peas took awhile to soften/thicken, but it was great!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenjem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States