Curry Root Vegetable Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Just finished and thought it was so delicious! I had a similar pie at a restaurant and wanted to recreate it at home- I think it was a complete success. I made a few modifications, must notably the addition of golden raisins. This was one of my favorite parts in the restaurant version and it turned out beautifully at home. The raisins balance the curry spice and add another flavor and texture dimension to all the root veggies. Trust me, it is so good. Since I really like them I added about 3/4 cup. Other modifications included that I doubled the curry powder, used skim milk, chicken broth, and only about two tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Made it for my husbands birthday...he loved it and so did everyone else! Left out the parsnips added peas and nude skin potatoes and doubled the curry...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Exceptionally good! Was looking for a recipe to use up the parsnips I got in my CSA box last week. As it turns out I was able to use several vegetables that I had on hand. I used celery, celery root, carrots, parsnip red peppers and onion. My family was very skeptical when they saw the dish, but they raved about it and fought over the leftovers the next day. It was colourful, tasty and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I was craving samosas from my favorite Indian restaurant so I was searching and searching and I found this recipe that I liked the best. Instead of a pot pie, I did turnovers with the puff pastry. I just used red potatoes, carrots, and peas. It hit the spot. I served with pesto which was absolutely yummy. Next time I'll use more curry and get more puff pastry because I had left over filling. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killerbeegurl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was FANTASTIC! I took it to a church supper, and people were coming back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Wow! This was hearty and delicious. Even my picky eaters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We loved this recipe! It came out wonderful. I didn't skin red potatoes and the skin was actually quite delicious in the pot pie - i added some cayenne and used red onions, I added some seared chicken thighs and used 1% milk and only 1 tbsp butter (but extra oil from cooking the chicken). It was delicious!! (might add some green peas next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramel0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Saltado
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made my own pie crust instead of the puff pastry. I roasted the veggies and heated the stock and milk as described. Then I made a roux with the butter and flour and added curry and onions. Then drizzled in the milk and stock. Then added the sauce to the veggies. I enjoyed this very much and will make again for sure. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States