Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
YUM! Used fat free half and half, and it was wonderful. Very rich and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
WOW! I could not have screwed this up any more than I did, and it still turned out great! Thought I had veggie stock, but I didn't, so had to use chicken stock. Thought I had bought pumpkin at the store, but had accidentally bought pumpkin pie filling. I went ahead and used it, but then (obviously) omitted the sugar called for in the recipe. Used coconut milk instead of half & half per suggestions in the other reviews. TURNED OUT GREAT!!! Whole family loved it. Will try again with correct ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Love this recipe! It is now part of our Thanksgiving menu but we start making in October because it's so good! I add a chopped onion, 1 clove minced garlic and 1/4 tsp ginger when melting the butter before I add the flour. It's not as smooth as it would be without these added ingredients but it still works (sometimes I add a little butter if it seems too thick.) Then when the soup is done, I use an immersion blender to make it all smooth again before I serve the soup. It tastes even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
We made a double batch for Thanksgiving dinner, and ended up needing to customize it a bit (people with gluten allergies, pepper allergies, lactose allergies, etc.) We replaced 2 cups of 1/2&1/2 with lactose free whole milk, added more gluten free soy sauce, added some Worcestershire, ginger, more curry, and cumin. Salt and pepper to taste, must more flavor. Great base recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Fits my two dinner rules: very quick and easy and my family loved it - and my toddler ate it like it was dessert. To quote: "yummy, yummy pumpkin soup". Made it with fresh pumpkin (we have tons of it at home). Will be making this again as part of my Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup is delicious. I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 veggie broth and 1/2 chicken broth and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Not a big fan of this. I used the coconut milk. No one in the family liked it. Don't get me wrong... I love curry and pumpkin. It just did not work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I had left-over pumpkin in a can after making cookies, so was looking what to do with it. Found this recipe and then made a whole Indian dinner based around it. Actually this was amazingly tasty. My husband and son were scarfing it up until I told them it was pumpkin and then they lost their enthusiasm. Note to self: wait a while and then make again, hoping they will forget that it has pumpkin in it... Otherwise, wonderful and different. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! I used light coconut milk in place of the half and half and add 1/4 tsp chile powder. This added a really nice sweet and spicy taste and also cuts the calories in HALF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Restaurant quality soup! I substituted a 14 oz can of coconut milk for the half/half. I can't wait to have friends over and blow them away with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States