Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe which I have now added to my repertoire of fast, easy and wonderful autumn & winter soups. It was delicious, as written, but I've gradually introduced the following amendments to suit my personal taste: I use coconut milk instead of half-and-half; reduced the pumpkin to approx. 2 cups; and -- instead of curry powder -- I add 2 TBSP of green curry paste, which gives it a fresher, more complex flavor and just a touch more heat. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Omitted pumpkin seeds but added one small diced onion to beginning. Made as is, but added one extra tbs each of curry and sugar. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this soup for a group of 20 some people. It was a hit. I also added a couple of mini marshmallows to each bowl. The marshmallows melt and the bit of sweetness is very good with the curry. This recipe is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Really different, but tastes great! I made it a couple of times and found that some sort of cream is necessary. Coconut milk works fine, but imo the cream tasted best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great starting point, but I added and changed some things for my vegan taste: used plain almond milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2; added a cup of quinoa for added protein; added 2 Tbsp minced ginger root; used 1 Tbsp hot Madras curry powder and 1 Tbsp regular curry. I've also used pureed silken tofu for protein, but the consistency was not the same. Delicious recipe regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
YUM! Used fat free half and half, and it was wonderful. Very rich and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
WOW! I could not have screwed this up any more than I did, and it still turned out great! Thought I had veggie stock, but I didn't, so had to use chicken stock. Thought I had bought pumpkin at the store, but had accidentally bought pumpkin pie filling. I went ahead and used it, but then (obviously) omitted the sugar called for in the recipe. Used coconut milk instead of half & half per suggestions in the other reviews. TURNED OUT GREAT!!! Whole family loved it. Will try again with correct ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Love this recipe! It is now part of our Thanksgiving menu but we start making in October because it's so good! I add a chopped onion, 1 clove minced garlic and 1/4 tsp ginger when melting the butter before I add the flour. It's not as smooth as it would be without these added ingredients but it still works (sometimes I add a little butter if it seems too thick.) Then when the soup is done, I use an immersion blender to make it all smooth again before I serve the soup. It tastes even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
We made a double batch for Thanksgiving dinner, and ended up needing to customize it a bit (people with gluten allergies, pepper allergies, lactose allergies, etc.) We replaced 2 cups of 1/2&1/2 with lactose free whole milk, added more gluten free soy sauce, added some Worcestershire, ginger, more curry, and cumin. Salt and pepper to taste, must more flavor. Great base recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Fits my two dinner rules: very quick and easy and my family loved it - and my toddler ate it like it was dessert. To quote: "yummy, yummy pumpkin soup". Made it with fresh pumpkin (we have tons of it at home). Will be making this again as part of my Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States