Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Simple to make and healthy, especially when you substitute non-fat evaporated milk for the heavier cream. I only made a half recipe since I had a half can of pumpkin on hand. I sauteed half a diced onion with the butter/curry mixture, added a splash of Frank's Red Hot in the last couple of minutes and sprinkled chia seeds on top for extra fibre. We liked it and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Used milk since that's what I had on hand. Be generous with salt and pepper and this is an easy tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I didn't know that curry could have a kick. Very flavorful and spicey. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
healthy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Good soup! I did add some sweet onion as suggested. After all of the seasonings were added, I still felt like it needed a little more. I added about a quarter tsp. cayenne, a tablespoon or two of brown sugar and a little ginger. I will make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe which I have now added to my repertoire of fast, easy and wonderful autumn & winter soups. It was delicious, as written, but I've gradually introduced the following amendments to suit my personal taste: I use coconut milk instead of half-and-half; reduced the pumpkin to approx. 2 cups; and -- instead of curry powder -- I add 2 TBSP of green curry paste, which gives it a fresher, more complex flavor and just a touch more heat. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Omitted pumpkin seeds but added one small diced onion to beginning. Made as is, but added one extra tbs each of curry and sugar. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this soup for a group of 20 some people. It was a hit. I also added a couple of mini marshmallows to each bowl. The marshmallows melt and the bit of sweetness is very good with the curry. This recipe is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Really different, but tastes great! I made it a couple of times and found that some sort of cream is necessary. Coconut milk works fine, but imo the cream tasted best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great starting point, but I added and changed some things for my vegan taste: used plain almond milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2; added a cup of quinoa for added protein; added 2 Tbsp minced ginger root; used 1 Tbsp hot Madras curry powder and 1 Tbsp regular curry. I've also used pureed silken tofu for protein, but the consistency was not the same. Delicious recipe regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States