Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
It's unfortunate that I have to rate the recipe to leave a review, because I made too many changes to the original for me to really be able to give a fair rating... but since I have to rate, I'd put it solidly in the middle. Some of the changes I made were necessary (only had 13.9 oz pumpkin), others were due to personal preference (do not like things too spicy). Here are the changes I made: halved the recipe; used turkey stock instead of veggie broth; used approx. half amount of curry (still plenty spicy for me); did not add salt. Next time I will mince up half a medium sweet onion (for a half-batch of soup) in my food processor, and saute that with the butter. Too many changes to really rate the recipe as written, but I think the original is a great base and lends itself well to modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Made this just the way it says PLUS added a finely chopped yellow onion and the whole family loved it. Enjoy with a crusty warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Love, love, love, love, love! Easy, quick and delicious! This soup had wonderful rich flavor with a nice kick at the end. It was devoured. I made it for a party I was going to and served it as soup shooters. I put a small dollop of sour cream and then the onions as a garnish. They were a huge hit. Thanks for the great recipe that will be a staple in our home from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe...with a few changes. I added finely chopped onions to the butter before adding the flour/curry powder. I also substituted coconut milk (1 can) for the half-and-half. I served this to a group of 15 teens, 2 college students, and 4 adults. It was an absolute hit! One suggestion I got from 2 people was that it'd be great served over rice...another was to add raisins. It really does only take about 20 minutes to make. Definite keeper recipes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Used can of lite coconut milk. I added too much pepper, but otherwise tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I loved this! I added a bay leaf, cumin, a pinch of cinnamon, 1 tsp or so of fish sauce, cayenne pepper and extra curry (love that spice!). I also added minced onion and garlic at the beginning. This is a great base recipe to add to if you love heat like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Wonderful, I've made this several times! I used butternut squash (more flavor) and extra curry. It won the favorite dish at a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very delicious soup with a nice kick! My 2 year old devoured his bowl. I couldn't help but smile after every bite myself. Can't wait to make it again. Will be sharing this recipe with my friends! There's more kick still if you use red curry powder. Also, a dollop of plain yogurt on top of each serving or alongside (not mixed in) makes a nice soothing counter-balance to any spice in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This soup is nothing short of DEVINE. It's perfect. I accidentally put 2 tsp of garam masala in before I realized I was putting in the wrong spice, so did that and then 1tsp of curry spice. It's wonderful. I also only had chicken broth but it doesn't matter: it's wonderful. I will make this again and again. Serve with crusty bread. OMG perfect soup. Make it! It's EASY too. I did as suggested and did puree one med onion and 4 cloves of garlic and sauteed that with the butter and spices. Delicious. This will be a staple at my house FOREVER now. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I love this recipe! The curry gives the pumpkin a wonderful kick. I did do some subtracting and adding, though. I added barley, cut up chunks of brown and serve pre-cooked turkey sausage that was sauted with chopped onion before I added the flour to make a paste, chinese 5 spice powder, skim milk and cinnamon and lost the half and half, soy sauce and sugar and no pumpkin seeds. I slimmed it down and made it more diabetic friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States