Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Whole family loved this soup. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vongruenigen
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
amazing. i made with both an onion and vanilla almond milk instead of cow milk. it was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
4.5 stars - I thought this was a great spiced pumpkin soup. I followed other suggestions and added in some minced onion and garlic (sauteed at the beginning to soften), substituted coconut milk for the half-and-half, and omitted the soy sauce but added in a little bit of cumin. This made a nice consistency, well flavored soup. Could potentially use a bit less curry powder, but I suppose it depends on how much you like the flavor. Proper salt and pepper seasoning really made this soup for me. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I tried so hard to like this - but I just didn't. And to my surprise, it was Hubs who I thought wouldn't like this and he did! It was different and interesting, I'll give it that. But I think it was overly "curried" and that did it in for me. Hubs said for him it was the curry that made the "pumpkin" part of this soup edible! I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth - I never have vegetable broth on hand and know I would prefer the chicken broth anyway. I left out the sugar - pumpkin is sweet enough. It's very rich and again, too curried, so a little goes a long way. Therefore, I have to agree with Hubs that this would be good as a "soup shooter starter," as a complement to the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
What a delicious soup! We tried it with the onions, as suggested. This was fast, easy, and so comforting on a snowy winter night. Thanks for sharing, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My goodness this was yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Oh my gosh!!! This is excellent! My 6yr old son asked for pumpkin soup even though he's never had it (no one in my family has). So I bought pumpkins and made this recipe. Wonderful!! I used heavy cream and sauteed onions. I recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was great, but I think I was heavy-handed on the curry powder (usually I like extra, this time I don't think it was a good idea). I live in a foreign country so I have to buy a gourd similar to pumpkin called ahuyama and boil it, then when it's soft I scoop it out of the rind and put it in the blender. I added 4 garlic cloves and half an onion in the blender and had that as my replacement for the canned pumpkin. Next time I might add in a few splashes of white wine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made this with the suggested minced onion, which I cooked until caramelized. This soup was delightfully creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, and this soup was pretty terrible until I added a TON more spices that weren't listed in the ingredients. Will definitely try a different recipe next time I make pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States