Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for a change of pace from chipotle pumpkin soup, which I make at least once a month. This recipe is good. I skipped the roux, as it isn't necessary; I just adjust the amount of liquid to achieve the desired thickness (used about 4 cups of total liquid). I used almond milk in place of the half-and-half and skipped the sugar, as it just didn't seem like it needed it. I like things spicy, so I added cayenne and crushed red pepper, as well as freshly ground black pepper. This is great topped with a spoonful of reduced fat sour cream. Nice change of pace from my usual soup. Another great thing is that it can be on the table in 15-20 minutes from start to finish, so you have a from scratch soup in about the same time that it would take to make canned/premade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The Soup was delicious as is! Its warm and spicey and perfect for the winter months. I actually add a little more spice than recommended and, upon the request of my brother, added some cayenne pepper for a kick to make the soup spice-y and spicy. :) Great soup. Will go into my recipe box with a little star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this using fresh pumpkin from the patch. Substituted evaporated milk for the 1/2 & 1/2. Started with a half a small white onion in the butter before adding the flour to make the roux and then added more onion powder before serving. I liked mine with parmesan cheese and savory croutons, my husband liked his plain. We like this enough to plan on serving it when the family comes for Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
this was yummy...i had tried another pumpkin soup that swore my family off all pumpkin soups... until this one. i made it for pennies with leftover canned pumpkin from thanksgiving! I did add more curry and salt and used turkey stock that I had made homemade also for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was excellent. My entire family loved it. I followed the recipee except for the inclusion of an onion and a clove of garlic. I used fat-free half and half and chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My husband and 2 little boys did not seem interested in the thought of it. But, they all loved it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Whole family loved this soup. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vongruenigen
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
amazing. i made with both an onion and vanilla almond milk instead of cow milk. it was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
4.5 stars - I thought this was a great spiced pumpkin soup. I followed other suggestions and added in some minced onion and garlic (sauteed at the beginning to soften), substituted coconut milk for the half-and-half, and omitted the soy sauce but added in a little bit of cumin. This made a nice consistency, well flavored soup. Could potentially use a bit less curry powder, but I suppose it depends on how much you like the flavor. Proper salt and pepper seasoning really made this soup for me. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I tried so hard to like this - but I just didn't. And to my surprise, it was Hubs who I thought wouldn't like this and he did! It was different and interesting, I'll give it that. But I think it was overly "curried" and that did it in for me. Hubs said for him it was the curry that made the "pumpkin" part of this soup edible! I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth - I never have vegetable broth on hand and know I would prefer the chicken broth anyway. I left out the sugar - pumpkin is sweet enough. It's very rich and again, too curried, so a little goes a long way. Therefore, I have to agree with Hubs that this would be good as a "soup shooter starter," as a complement to the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States