Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe, however I omit the sugar and add a few other spices like red pepper, chili powder and paprika as well as garlic salt to make it a savory soup. I still love the curry. I change out the vegetable broth with chicken broth. This is the best recipe for large groups. Instead of garnishing with pumpkin seeds, I like to change it out with either toasted walnuts, sautéed mushrooms or crumbled bacon (or all three!). It is great to offer your guests a choice of garnishes - especially if you have picky eaters, or ones on special diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! A MUST try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
2 tbsp butter + 2 tbsp curry powder + 3 tbsp flour = dough ball. Mixture will burn before it bubbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this for a party to accompany a Honey Baked Ham- it was a huge hit! I tripled the recipe and it was almost gone by nights end. I added the onions, a bit of fresh garlic, and some minced ginger as others have done. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE0987

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I halved the recipe - single guy. I used evaporated milk and did add a pinch extra curry and a pinch of ginger. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I added two stir fried boneless chichen breasts cut into bite sized pieces and a can of drained chick peas. This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I had to use fresh pumpkin as we can't get cans of it where I live, but kept everything else the same. It was really good. Next time I would add some onion and garlic as others have mentioned just for a bit more depth but it was good as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I'm a low carber so pumpkin is a dream food. So many things you can do with it. I didn't use any flour and used splenda in place of the sugar. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I made this with coconut milk (boxed, not canned) and wouldn't do that again. Will try again as written next time. Quite good still but not as creamy the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This has become a common weekend request from my family, and I love that it is SO EASY to make. My alterations: 1 c. finely chopped red onion for some additional texture and flavor, coconut milk instead of cream, fish sauce instead of soy, and I serve it over a slice of crusty french bread (toasted in the oven like a huge crouton.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It was a bit bland. Not bad, just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States