Curry Pineapple Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stannius
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I am the recipe author. I made this as an experiment and my wife keeps clamoring for more. That's how I know when I've got a hit. I have since found that the following additions/substitutions work well: Egg; red bell pepper; broccoli; shrimp; scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
We really enjoyed this rice. I added frozen sweet baby peas a few minute before serving and just mixed them into the hot rice so they could thaw. I also added a generous handful of bean sprouts at the last minute. I served this to company in half a pineapple, sliced on the diagonal and hollowed out. Looked and tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This dish was great! I added cashews, zucchini and basil. I think any added veggie would be great! Also, I left out the fish sauce and it was still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
The faces (and bellies) around the dinner table were very pleased with this recipe! I tweaked it just a bit - I replaced 1 cup of the water for the rice with coconut milk (70% cream). The result tasted a lot like one of my favorite dishes at a local Vietnamese restaurant. Next time: I'm doing a 50/50 split with coconut milk & water for the rice and I'll add cabbage, small broccoli florets & carrots. This dish is so tasty! And don't leave out the fish sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Very nice flavor. I cut the pineapple chunks in half to make them blend more subtly with the fried rice. Also added some chopped veggies and cashews. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I didnt add the fish sauce, but did add mushrooms, and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Great dish! I used tofu instead of meat and it was a great flavorful dish. I served it with roasted asparagus and sliced oranges and my family had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was a really great weeknight meal. I used 1/2 an onion, shrimp instead of chicken and all of the pineapple juice from the can. I also added 1/2 a bag of broccoli. Served with eggrolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was SOO good. I gave it 5 stars even though i added some other ingredients because the pineapple, curry powder, and fish sauce mix was superb and I would have never thought it would add so much ooph to fried rice. I recommend cooking the rice in advance and putting it in the fridge because its easier to fry if its cold. I used frozen shrimp and thawed it and removed the tails. I only used maybe 8 oz of pineapple and it was plenty. I chopped them too so it would blend better. I added 3 eggs, scrambled separately, chopped carrots, 1 clove minced garlic, and peas. I feel like these ingredients are a staple in fried rice. Also I used 3 tablespoons of sesame oil instead of vegetable oil and it adds nice flavor. DEEEEEEEELICIOUS! New fave recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This recipe is great. It's easy and tasty. I aded cashews, a scrambled egg, a dash of cinnamon, and a dash of cumin. I will totally be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States