Curry Pineapple Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was SOO good. I gave it 5 stars even though i added some other ingredients because the pineapple, curry powder, and fish sauce mix was superb and I would have never thought it would add so much ooph to fried rice. I recommend cooking the rice in advance and putting it in the fridge because its easier to fry if its cold. I used frozen shrimp and thawed it and removed the tails. I only used maybe 8 oz of pineapple and it was plenty. I chopped them too so it would blend better. I added 3 eggs, scrambled separately, chopped carrots, 1 clove minced garlic, and peas. I feel like these ingredients are a staple in fried rice. Also I used 3 tablespoons of sesame oil instead of vegetable oil and it adds nice flavor. DEEEEEEEELICIOUS! New fave recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I really liked this recipe a lot. Very tasty, and easy to make too! I will be making it on a regular basis! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I have made this recipe numerous times and love it. It's quick, easy, and a great way to use up veggies that are almost past their prime. My most recent version included fresh baby spinach that was cooked down, celery, mushrooms, and a scrambled egg. I seldom add chicken out of personal preference, but the addition of extra veggies makes it a filling and satisfying meal. Thanks for sharing Stannius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Fantastic! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was really tasty but required a major substitution. I used hoisin sauce instead of fish (purge fluids) sauce. Then topped it with some sliced green onions when it was plated. It made 3 realistic size servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I used shrimp instead of chicken, and I added a cup of frozen peas. Also, I didn't have enough curry powder for a whole tablespoon, so I added cumin, coriander and cayenne. However, I think I would go with 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of curry powder - it seemed like it needed a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Not enough pizazz to get 5 stars. It wasn't bland, but was closer to it than I wanted. I need more punch... More curry? more spiciness? it's a good start.... since this is a thai dish maybe I'll try a curry paste rather than powder. As i understand it, paste is typically more thai and powder is more indian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Dish is great and fun b/c you can add your favorite veggies, nuts or seafood/meat. I added bell peppers, carrots, peanuts and shrimp. I also added garlic powder, ginger powder and some coconut milk, which gave it a really great flavor. I did not have this on hand, but thai basil or cilantro would have been a great finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was an excellent idea for a quick meal. I used leftover Jasmine rice and added cooked shrimp and scallions. Very fragrant and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My husband LOVED this rice!!! He told me this is another addition to our recipe box...the only thing I did different was that I cooked my rice the day before (it doesn't come out mushy), and I added coconut milk when I added all the ingredients in the pan and let me tell you the coconut gave it that extra umph!!!!! But besides that the recipe was great, thnx for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States