Curry Kale and Potato Galette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Very tasty. I had spinach so substituted one large bunch of spinach for the kale. I only used 2 of the 3 potatoes. You don't have to be precise about the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a pain in the neck to make but was absolutely delicious. My husband complained I made a healthy food unhealthy with the addition of potatoes and cheese, but he seeemed to have no better luck than me at leaving the table! I would reccomend using a large non stick Dutch oven. I used a stainless saute pan and had to keep waiting for the kale to decrease in volume before I could add more. I was afraid all the spices were stuck to the bottom of the pan and there would be no spices left for the kale, but this was loaded with flavor and truely unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious! A great way to use kale. I got a little sack of red potatoes in my CSA basket, and had bought a big bag of kale that say, too. I had a feeling kale and potatoes would be good together, so I looked for recipes using both.I reduced the amount of curry powder just a tad, and I'm glad I did. I meant to add cayenne pepper but forgot. I don't miss it even though I like spicy food. My only complaint is the amount of butter. I thought this was too fatty overall, and will adjust the butter and oil amounts in the future. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I just made this today for lunch. It was easy to make and turned out really well. I didn't bother to melt the butter, I just dotted the top with about 2 Tbs of butter and I didn't add the cheese. I served mine with a spoonful of plain yogurt, which I really liked. My 7 year old daughter ate hers with ranch dressing...kids are so weird...and loved it. I like what the other reviewers said about maybe adding chickpeas for protein next time. It has only been an hour and a half since lunch and I'm hungry again...could just be me though...maybe the cheese would have kept me satisfied longer. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Made this as a main course tonight and it was amazing! I used about 8 small potatoes and sliced on the mandolin. A large bunch of kale wilted down to only enough for one layer, so potatoes, kale, potatoes, and cheese. Used a lot more curry powder, about 2 tablespoons. I could see adding in some sauteed mushrooms and chickpeas next time, but this was really awesome as is. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making this again shortly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfunk4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I was skeptical about the cheese topping but this recipe was great! I followed another reviewers suggestion to use cold butter and that made it even easier. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Loved this!!! I used 2 bunches of kale and topped with provolone cheese at the end. Make sure your potatoes are nicely browned on the top before you put your cheese on. Delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
this is excellent! The only thing I did diffrently was to use fresh ginger saute'd with the onion and garlic. I think the cheese odd but really is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I was a little skeptical, especially with the cheese addition. I don't think of cheddar cheese going with curry. But the recipe was surprisingly good, though I thought with WAY too much curry. I will use less next time and likely add some beans- lentils seem a likely choice- for added protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
It is rare that I try a recipe where I don't want to change a thing. This is one. It is perfect. Everyone knows Kale is so good for you and now I have a favorite kale recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice-Baked Potatoes

See a terrific technique for making tasty twice-baked potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States