Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
After reading the other reviews I made some changes. The end result was PERFECT!!! IT CAME OUT BETTER THAN MY FAVORITE RESTAURANT. If you make it this way you will not be dissapointed. This is what I did: I mixed in the blender 1/4 c canola oil, 1 medium onion, 1 red bell pepper and 5 cloves of garlic to create a chunky paste. I then sauted it for 4 min, lowered the heat to simmer and added 2 tsp minced ginger, 2 tbsp curry powder, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp sugar, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes and 2 tbsp flour, mixing energetically for 2 min. I then gradually added 2 c of light coconut milk all the while mixing energetically untill the sause thickened and became uniform. I simmered the sauce for 4 min, then increased the heat to medium-high again, added the shrimp, mixed well to coat and cooked for 4-5 min. Finally I added 1/2 c chopped fresh cilantro and 3/4c shredded coconut, mixed one last time and turned off the heat. THE RESULT WAS HARDLY ENOUGH FOR 2 CURRY LOVERS!!! YUM, YUM, YUM! THANK YOU DAKOTA and all the reviewers! I also plan on making this with chicken and I will try peanuts instead of shredded coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This recipe needs to have the roux made in the beginning of the sauce (to eliminate any pasty taste). I used a combination of butter and oil (3 TBPS) and sauted the onions in that, then I added the spices and 2 TBPS of flour, eliminating the cornstarch. Cook for one minute then add the coconut milk. I used 2 TBSPS of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was absolutely fantastic. The only changes I made were I doubled the coconut milk, curry powder, and crushed red pepper flakes, and just before I served it I added some shredded coconut. Wow. I will definietely make this again. I think it would also be great with tofu or chicken instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
The way I made it was only worth four stars, but I made some poor alterations. I didn't have coriander or cilantro and I love both... so I shouldn't have made it without them. Secondly, I didn't see the need for the teaspoon of sugar, but in hindsight, I should have. On a good note, I did what a prior review AGLIKA recommended and put the first few ingredients in a food processor before sauteeing. This thickened the sauce nicely and I didn't have to add the cornstarch/H20. I also up'd the red pepper flakes which gave it more heat. I cannot wait to make this recipe again THE RIGHT WAY. On a Side Note: I always loved curry-coconut shrimp in restaurant eventhough nutrition-wise, it's right up there with alredo sauce. So, I could never bring myself to make this at home considering how terribly fattening it is. However, this recipe is LowFat, LowCal, and LowCarb... amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
1/2 cup of coconut milk was not enough and I did NOT need to use the cornstartch. If I had, then it would have been way too thick. This tasted good...just not made exactly as written. UPDATE: I made this tonight and the general consensus is there needs to be more sauce. I used 2 tsp of sugar instead to suit our taste, hubby thought it was too spicy I thought it was just right. Next time I will cut the red pepper and double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This curry sauce is absolutely delicious and goes really well with the shrimp and brown rice. It's not too spicy but still has some kick. I'd love to try it with chicken and veggies. I'll omit or use less of the cornstarch next time, though; it made the sauce too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was a delicious recipe. I stuck with the recipe, substituting only light coconut milk for the regular variety (save a couple of calories) and omitted the red pepper because I didn't have it on hand. I added a little cornstarch at the end, but I think I would leave this out next time - it was actually a little too thick. BONUS SIDE DISH: I made a middle eastern coconut rice on the side (cooked the rice in half light coconut milk and water), then after cooking, added toasted coconut (toasted in a pan with a little olive oil), toasted almond and toasted raisins, all mixed through the rice (do all the toasting separately). With the curry-coconut shrimp, it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
We enjoyed this dish!.. I doubled the curry because I love curry and the coconut milk; I used 1/4 tsp of cayenne instead of the red pepper flakes. Other than that I followed the recipe and added just a squirt of lime juice at the end with salt and pepper. Pretty good but I have other favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made this recipe last week and my husband looooved it. He's not a big fan of coconut, but he really enjoyed the sweet spicy taste. I give this recipe 4 stars because its easy to prepare and make. I used regular coconut milk instead of light and the sauce thickened without the need of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Warning - if you're not a fan of either coconut or cilantro, pass this recipe by! Hubs fits into this category and rates this two stars! If these aren't your issues, however, read on. This was a beautiful dish in terms of both presentation and flavor. Seasoned just right in my judgment, so that no, one, spice dominates. Quick and easy to prepare, this recipe really delivers. I enjoyed it a lot! (Again, Hubs not so much) I served this over jasmine rice with steamed baby bok choy and yellow patty pan squash. A treat for both the eyes and the palate. Oh - and I didn't find it necessary to add any cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States