Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This curry sauce is absolutely delicious and goes really well with the shrimp and brown rice. It's not too spicy but still has some kick. I'd love to try it with chicken and veggies. I'll omit or use less of the cornstarch next time, though; it made the sauce too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I found the taste pretty flat and pastey tasting, there was no salt or soy sauce in the recipe and I feel it could have used it. I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This recipe needs to have the roux made in the beginning of the sauce (to eliminate any pasty taste). I used a combination of butter and oil (3 TBPS) and sauted the onions in that, then I added the spices and 2 TBPS of flour, eliminating the cornstarch. Cook for one minute then add the coconut milk. I used 2 TBSPS of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Excellent! However due to previous comments, I doubled the recipe, but kept the original amount of shrimp and cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This recipe was great with a few changes. I omitted the corn starch and made a roux as the other review stated. I also doubled the coconut milk, used 2 tbsps curry, and added one cup frozen peas. Perfect with some good naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This was very bland. I left out the cornstarch and used a 13.5oz. can of light coconut milk. Definitely needs salt or something - don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I made it almsot exactly as stated, except I used regular organic coconut milk and no sugar. It was delicious! And spicy. Not sure why I got a different result from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Excellent-just enought spice, added a small amount of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jee jee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This recipe was absolutely amazing! My family just loved it. I did keep the changes the others suggested. 1) Add some butter to the oil before frying. 2) Add 2 tbspn curry powder. 3) Add 2 Tbspn flour before adding the coconut milk. 4) Double the coconut milk. 5) Dont add CS + water. 6) Add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This was really good! after i followed some reviewer suggestions... - I used 2tsp butter/ 1tsp oil to fry veg - I added 2Tbs flour the same time i added the spices - I used 1 cup coconut milk, 1 cup skim milk - I trippled the spices and added even more curry powder at the end - I omited corn starch and added salt to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States