Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I give this recipe 4 stars as written, 5 stars with the changes I made. I left out red bell pepper because I didn't have any, but I doubled everything else (except sugar...I left it at 1 tsp). I also added more garlic and added minced ginger. I also used finely ground Indian red pepper and it's HOT - so I used 1/2 tsp. I did add the corn starch and wouldn't do it again. The thickness was fine before it was added but I did it anyway. I served over brown rice and it made plenty...definitely something new in our dinner recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My husband flipped over this dish. I was short on the shrimp but it turned out purfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darmstro67
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I love the recipe reviews and always use the advice given: I used 1 cup of coconut milk but skipped adding the sugar, and used 1 tsp each of the spices. This was fabulous with the Reisling wine as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was very good, but i followed many of the other reviewers suggestions. I blended the vegatables and sauted them before mixing with spices and milk, it turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Nice, quick , and easy! My very picky father even liked it! I used a whole can of coconut milk so there would be more sauce for the rice I served it over, so I increased the spices to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I followed what the first reviewer suggested and it was great. I just added salt, and decreased the amount of coconut flakes at the end - using about 1/2 cup rather than 3/4 cup. Will definitely make it again. by the way, the cilantro looks and tastes great at the end so don't leave that out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was excellent! I used whole coconut milk, green peppers, and no cilantro (didn't have any). Also served over wholewheat thin spaghetti. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I loved this, and my finicky teen-age boys even scraped their plates. (Can't get much better endorsement than that!) I didn't have red pepper, so I used a green pepper I had. Also, served with cups of peanuts and coconut at the table, as offered with Indian fare. Will definitely make again. I tried using one reviewer's suggestion to make a roux at the beginning using flour and butter, but that didn't work out well for me. It was too thick, and then I was adding more coconut milk to try to thin it out again. I think if served over rice, the coconut curry sauce is just the right consistency -- without flour or cornstarch imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Wow, was this ever good! Hard to believe that it's light (but you have to use the light coconut milk). To lighten it up further, I used olive oil spray rather than the oil; didn't miss it at all. A double bonus was how quick it was to put together. Some of the other reviewers said it needed a bit more heat (plus I like heat), so I added about a teaspoon of red curry paste to the vegetables and spices while they were sauteeing. I also added about a 1/4 teaspoon of salt, which really made the flavors pop (amazing what a little bit of salt does for that) and perhaps a tablespoon of minced fresh ginger. What it didn't need was the cornstarch, as mine thickened beautifully all on its own. I used jumbo shrimp (13-15 count) and served it over brown and red rice with wheat berries with roasted broccoli and onion wedges on the side, with a salad dressed with 1 tablespoon of marmalade (melted) with a splash of rice wine vinegar, to which I added a tad bit of chopped mint and freshly ground pepper; very fresh. Guess what...having it all again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This had wonderful flavor. It would be great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States