Curry-Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
The sauce is great and would probably be good with chicken too. I usually add a little extra coconut milk and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollycurls77
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a 5 star recipe with similar changes to another reviewer. I made a paste out of the onions, red pepper, garlic, ginger and oil, sauteed the paste, added the spices and a TBSP of flour and cooked for a few more minutes stirring to blend. Added the coconut milk and simmered it until slightly thickened and added a bit of salt for flavour. Added the shrimp and the cilantro, removed from heat once the shrimp was cooked through and served it with brown rice linquine. Absolutely superb!! My hubby was a happy man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Very good! I did not alter this recipe much at all and I found it to be very flavorful. I added a pinch of cayenne powder and a pinch of mustard seed, as well as about 1/3 cup of chickpeas (garbanzo beans). I used splenda instead of the sugar-- couldn't tell a difference. I may have added a bit more coconut milk to thicken it up as well. It was my first time cooking anything curry- related and I was very impressed with how flavorful it was. I served it over a low-carb wheat tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This did not have enough flavor for me and the coconut flavor did not stick out at all. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Delicious. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This gets 5 stars for great flavour while being reasonably health-conscious. I have made it a few times now and it's always enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This recipe was awesome! I changed a few things though. I omitted the cornstarch, water, and sugar. Then I used 2 cups (or 1 can) of lite coconut milk which made it more of a sauce and I doubled the seasonings. Also, it was great served over Jasmine rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I was not a huge fan of this as I thought it was a little too thick and I could taste the "grit" almost of the curry. I think i was expecting something a bit sweet. I did add sugar to this after trying it and that helped. My roomate did enjoy it (after the sugar was added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I followed AGLIKA's suggestions and made this. I make alot of curries, and this one was easy since the ingredients are all things we don't have to run to the grocery store for. I like my food spicy so I added a green chili, seeds and all to the blender. I also didn't measure my coconut milk, I just added 1 can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Really healthy, really fast, really tasty!! This recipe can easily be modified to personal tastes (as many commenters have), but the base is good on its own. I usually add a bit of fresh ground peanut butter and some raisins myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States